Why did I tell myself I could do that?

So The Baby needed a Halloween costume.  I figured if I was going to sew one (since we couldn’t find a giraffe costume) I had better get on it just in Img_1938
case it ended up taking me two weeks!   I don’t know why I thought I could sew her a costume.  I even picked out one that seemed normal enough, a fairy dress.  I’ve made a few baby dresses before so it couldn’t be terribly hard, right?  Well I struggled with it all weekend.  I didn’t want to give up so I kept at it and didn’t get anything at else done.  Really.  I finally finished it up yesterday, and I have to say it didn’t turn out all that bad!  It’s not a perfect job by any means, but it is put together and resembles the picture on the pattern so I’d say it was a success.  It is a little too big right now, but I’m thinking I’ll make a belt out of the leftover blue to cinch it up.  Besides, she’ll probably wear a jacket over it most of the day anyway 😉 

Note to self: until you get better at sewing, do not choose to work with slippery fabrics that fray easily, such as satin!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Satin is definitely not fun to work with! But I think it turned out cute!

    Reply
  2. chris

     /  October 20, 2008

    I agree, satin is a bear to work with…yours looks wonderful, tho!

    Reply
  3. Cute as ever 🙂 I’m confuddled now… didn’t have another nickname instead of The Baby? Cos she clearly isn’t a baby anymore 🙂
    Cheers Eva

    Reply
  4. Looks great to me!
    I’m vastly relieved that my kid wants to be the same thing he was last year, a firefighter. Of course he REALLY would prefer to be a tuna, but Mommy can’t actually manage that one.

    Reply
  5. Kara

     /  October 22, 2008

    I think the outfit is great! And she is so cute. James loves coming to your blog just so we can look at her pictures.

    Reply

Something to Say?

