Garden/Yard Update

It was mostly a disappointing season for the garden this time around.  But we did manage to get a few things out of there.  It was really cool eating home grown carrots and using lots of fresh herbs for cooking, and of course the obligatory zucchini which is always my favorite in the summer.  I thought I’d share with you one of the last harvests for the year.Img_1850

Img_1851

We found a gigantic squash growing and pulled it last wek – this thing is bigger than my head!!  There were also a few acorn squashes, I’m really looking forward to eating these ones as it’s been a while since I’ve had one.Img_1852

The tomatoes weren’t a total bummer for us, even though we got way more cherry ones than we needed and not nearly enough big beefy ones that we wanted.  I finally resorted to picking the green ones.  A lot of them.  I’d never eaten any green tomatoes until we tried doing Img_1853
them the breaded and fried way last week, and it was pretty good!  I felt the need to do
some canning and I found a recipe for Picalilli relish using green tomatoes, cabbage, green peppers, and onions.  After about 2 and a half hours of chopping and 4 hours of draining I managed to put up 8 half pints and 3 pints.  Now I just hope we like it!

We did at one point have way too many ripe tomatoes so we decided to try our hand at salsa.  I know I should haImg_1855ve exposed myself to making salsa before this point in my life but it just never happened.  I’ve made plenty of guacamole, but never salsa.  I think it was a success, a very tasty one at that.  We were able to get 5 pints and a little bit more to eat with zucchini tacos.  Next time, which should be in a day or two as I’ve got a boatload more tomatoes and jalapenos to use up, we are going to try and play around with the spices more.
Img_1857
I also Img_1856managed to can some jams, peaches, and even dilly beans.  I love the dilly beans, yum!

I’m glad the season is winding down and we are getting ready to prep the garden for next year, hopefully it will be alot more productive for us.  Almost all of the trees and shrubs we planted have survived, here’s a picture of the sumac for you Jennifer!  It looks the same as it did when we planted it though, hehe. 
Img_1858
I have spinning and dyeing a bunch of fiber so I should have lots to share with you in the next couple of days.  I even knitted a crazy cowl from handspun and bought buttons to finish my Third Wave Harf.  I’m determined to make it to SnB tomorrow to show off the crazy yarns I made in Seattle. 

Have a great day!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Oh, wow! Is that a Hubbard squash? They’re so yummy.

    Reply
  2. Great seeing you last night–thanks for bringing your yarn. It was so interesting to see it in person, much easier to understand it than from the photos.

    Reply

Something to Say?

