Ocean Grass

Img_1669
I’m done spinning the fiber that I showed you in my last post.  It spun up quickly and I just Img_1674
finished plying it this morning.  The fiber on the right is some BFL by Snake River Fibers and the stuff on the left is some merino dyed by me.  I thought they would look good together and I think I was right!  Ocean Grass was what came to mind when it was all done and so that’s what I’m calling it.  I wound up with about 350 yards of 2-ply from about 4 ounces of fiber.  I tried to
ply it a bit tighter than I usually do and it worked, as you can see it isn’t perfectly balanced, but it is still pretty
close. 

Img_1673I think this will be the last of my spinning until class.  I still need to do Img_1676some things to get ready, like pick out the fibers I’ll take, maybe do some more felted nubbies, and string some sequins or cut some fabric to spin.

The project for today is to find a hard-side suitcase since I didn’t bother to check the carry-on size limits for my wheel and can’t carry it on like I thought I’d be able to.  I hope I can find one!  Other than that I’ll just be knitting and trying to get these butterflies out of my stomach.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. oooh, that is pretty! i love the color combo!

    Reply
  2. You got a great color match there. Looks like the merino and Bfl are behaving next to each other. Make more, make a sweater.

    Reply
  3. Beautiful!
    I wish I had a suitcase to loan you, but all we have are crappy duffel bags.

    Reply

Something to Say?

