In which I am selfish, and yes, more politics.

I’ve been paying a lot of attention to the political news the last couple of weeks, including both of the major party conventions and all the hype about ‘the newcomer’, you know who I mean.  So I am sorry that I have a huge lack of knitting or spinning content.  I’m also getting excited/antsy/nervous about my upcoming solo trip to Portland/Seattle for Camp Pluckyfluff in Seattle in about 2 weeks.  Did I mention it would be my first time traveling out of state all by my little old self?  I’m nervous but excited at the same time.  I will be flying into Portland early in the morning at the start of the weekend, hanging out by myself for a bit while I wait to hook up with some high school friends, and then staying overnight there.  Then I will head off for the Amtrak train to Seattle the next day, probably getting there just in time to check into my hotel and find a bite to eat before bed.  The workshop runs Sunday and Monday so I don’t have a whole lot of time in Seattle to sightsee or hang around, but I will try to squeeze in at least a visit to the Space Needle or something cool.  Late Monday night I will be heading back home again.

Did I mention I’m nervous?!  Tell me it will all be fine, I’ll be fine, and have a great time even though I’ll be missing The Boyfriend and my kiddo like mad I’m sure.  Can I be honest though?  I need a break too.  I think I need this ‘adventure’ for just me.  I can’t really explain it beyond that, but is that bad of me? to want to be by myself and have some me time being totally selfish experiencing the unknown?  I know it isn’t really, but I want some reassurance I guess 😉  Anyway, that’s what I’m dwelling on now and trying not to worry too much about, trying to get excited about it.  Well when I’m not surfing the news websites and political groups on Ravelry!

I was going to try to write this with no politics stuff in it, but I can’t help myself.  And this is more on the comedic side anyway, so that’s how I’ll justify it.  This is just another reminder of why I love John Stewart so much.  Can we say hypocrisy much?  Flip-flop?  Is Karl Rove really just campaigning for McCain even though he is on the ‘fair and balanced’ news network now?  There is a clip from Papa Bear there too, also changing his opinion about things.

 

http://www.youtube.com/v/wQK1al91drs&hl=en&fs=1

I’m sorry but if Karl Rove’s protege and lobbyists are running his campaign, and Palin’s speeches are being written by a Bush speechwriter, can we really assume that if we elect McCain that it will be a complete 180 from the last 8 years?  Should we also talk about Palin’s earmarks and McCain’s ambition to stop pork barrel spending, and the bridge to nowhere that she supposedly put a stop to?  To me the VP choice was purely political, and a good way to get some Hillary fans to vote for him, not that they weren’t going to anyway.  In his defense I do have a feeling that if he got into office that he just might turn back into the ‘Maverick’ and do things his own way.  But I don’t think I’m willing to take the chance, especially since it seems to me that he sold out.  And people like Karl Rove are trying to get her – oops I mean him! – elected.

I admit it.  I’m biased toward Obama at this point and have been for a while, but contrary to some popular belief I do not think he is ‘The One’ and he can do no wrong.  I’m for him right now, and right now I want him to win.  I like to believe though, that I’m waiting for the debates and to see what happens in the next two months.  Who knows really, anything could happen!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I think every mom needs a vacation every year! My husband and I have an agreement – he goes on a climbing trip for 1 week and I go and do whatever I want for 1 week (usually I go to London and visit friends/yarn shops for 3 or 4 days). It does a lot – it recharges my batteries, I can visit with fiber friends without them being bored, it makes my husband realize how much work it is to take care of the boys and how much other stuff I do, it also makes me aware of how much he doesn’t know (like who their doctor is!!!). It is not selfish at all – it is very good for your soul, and that is good for your family! Don’t feel bad about it!!!

    Reply
  2. Some of us were thinking about voting for McCain but that woman is too scary. Maybe the country is actually being run by the speechwriters.
    Be sure your friends take you to Powell’s in Portland and Voodoo Donuts. You’ll have a great time. You are entitled.
    Why has there been no update on the sumac?

    Reply
  3. chris

     /  September 7, 2008

    Thanks for the link to Stewart – I had heard about it, but not seen it yet. It’s amazing what’s going on.
    About the vacation: I don’t think moms understand how much they *need* these until the kids are older and they look back and see how good it would have been. My kids are older now, and I wish I would have taken more time for myself. I thought doing so would be selfish, but in reality, it would have made me a more patient mom.
    Have an excellent time.

    Reply
  4. Don’t worry, I’m sure you’ll have a GREAT time!

    Reply
  5. llihak

     /  September 8, 2008

    The country is run by corporations through their lobbyists. I expect to see Rollerball introduced shortly.

    Reply
  6. Have a great time, you! As much as I enjoyed our family trip and wouldn’t trade it for a million dollars, I wish I could do something like that.

    Reply

Something to Say?

