FO and a Contest

Img_1490
I knit up a quick hat over the weekend using some handspun.  Remember my first coiled yarn?  Img_1289
Well here it is in action!  I spun a single of the same yarn and used that for the ribbed edge of the hat, then the rest is the coils.  I found out very quickly that the coils were not going to do what I wanted them to, so I stopped trying and just let it happen.  The coils just didn’t want to stay on the knit side of the fabric of my stockinette hat.  So when I was done I just turned it inside out so Img_1491
all the purls and cool coils were bumping out all over the place.  Img_1492The Baby is modeling the hat, but it was definitely made for me, crazy as it is!  This whole project was so much fun, especially the spinning of the yarn.  I almost
didn’t want to even knit it up but now I’m glad I did, and there are a few yards leftover so I can remember the yarn just as yarn πŸ™‚

  • Pattern – A simple stockinette hat with a 2×2 ribbed brim
  • Yarn – Hanspun by me, singles for the brim and coiled yarn for the rest
  • Needles – US Size 11
  • Took me – A few hours

Next up is the contest.  My next post will be my 500th post!  I kind of can’t believe that I’ve hung in there that long and posted that many times, it seems like a good accomplishment and we should celebrate those, right?  I’ll make that post tomorrow with the prize I’m giving away, and all you have to do to be entered in the contest is comment on that post and give me some love!  I’ll pick a winner on Friday, so you have to comment before then.  That’s it for today – see you tomorrow! 

Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. That turned out really fun!

    Reply
  2. That’s a fun hat – and definitely unique!

    Reply
  3. It’s pretty rare to see art yarn knitted up! πŸ™‚ Great job, I love the way it looks so wild!

    Reply
  4. hehehehe… I like that funky hat πŸ™‚ It is really cute πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. LOVE the way it turned out. The yarn was fun but now you can enjoy the yarn AND a hat!

    Reply
  6. But now the yarn is gone! You’ll have to make more. And how did you get her to model in what must be 5 star heat?

    Reply
  7. That hat is too cute. I love how crazy and funky it came out, and the color is stunning! totally a hat I would wear.

    Reply

Something to Say?

