Like Poppers?

Like Jalapeno poppers?  I do.  Or I used to.  Until I whipped up a new substitute tonight!  We had tostadas
for dinner and got some big jalapenos to stuff with cheese and roast to go along with it.  Well I wanted to jazz it up a little more than I normally do and I think we found a winner.  I thought I’d share the ‘recipe’ in Img_1459
case anyone is interested.  I say ‘recipe’ because I rarely measure anything, unless I am actually using a recipe – so this is all just based on my guesstimations of how much stuff I used.  Play around with it if you need to!

Stuffed Jalapenos

About 1 1/2 teaspoons canola or olive oil, and extra for roasting the jalapenos
4 large jalapenos or maybe a few extra if you are using smaller ones
About 3 tablespoons minced onions, I use red
3 small cloves of garlic minced, less or more to taste – I like more
About 1/4 – 1/2 cup cotija cheese – you should be able to find this on the Latin Foods aisle of your grocery store
About 1/4 cup reduced fat cream cheese, or full fat if you prefer
Salt* and pepper to taste – not too much salt!  The cotija cheese is fairly salty to begin with

*I used some Alderwood smoked salt, 2 nice pinches.  Regular salt will also work but I think the smoked salt added a nice touch. 

Heat your oven to broil.  Slice the jalapenos in half lengthwise, remove the seeds and membrane, or leave Img_1456_2
them the membrane if you like the extra heat.  Place cut side down on a non-stick pan or a pan lined with foil, drizzle a bit of oil on each pepper and roast until the skin starts to bubble and brown.  Meanwhile, heat the rest of the oil in a small pan over medium heat and saute the onions for about 5 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook for 15-30 seconds until fragrant.  Put onion mix in a small bowl.  Add the rest of the ingredients and stir together.  Turn the jalapenos over and spread the cheese mixture evenly between all of the peppers, return to the broiler for another 5 minutes or so, or until it looks browned enough for your taste.  Take them out and enjoy!

I really liked these because they are not just the regular boring popper you can get as an appetizer at a chain restaurant or in the grocery freezer.  The onions and cotija add extra texture and roasting the peppers adds a ton of flavor.  Now that I think about it they might even be better with a bit of cilantro added to the cheese mixture, I love cilantro.  Anyway, I’ll definitely be doing these again! 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I’m so trying these next time we have people over. Thanks!

    Reply

Something to Say?

