The First Harvest of the Season

So we headed up to the Farmer’s Market this morning just to see what was what so far this season.  ThereImg_1341
wasn’t much that we wanted to get, but did snag a nice bag of organic baby spinach and a loaf of Crumb Brothers’ Roasted Garlic bread.  When we got home after some more veggie shopping it was time to do yard work.  This year we tried planting some radishes and some of them were ready to pick today (I didn’t know that I probably planted them way too late as they don’t like hot weather.  Anyway.).  I decided to pull up the first batch I planted and we got a nice couple of handfuls of small radishes after trimming, which were very delicious with salt and herbed butter – another first for me.  The best part of the harvest was the tons of radish greens we got!  The lot on the towel will be sauteed tonight to go with some fish, and the stuff in the bag will go with some other greens for salads.  I’m so happy to have made this new-for-me discovery about how good the radish greens are! 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I’ve never tried radish greens. I don’t like radishes, so I don’t grow them. But I might like the greens. We had planned to go to the Farmer’s Market today, but time just kind of got away from us and we didn’t make it.

    Reply
  2. Allyson

     /  June 14, 2008

    I don’t really care for radish ANYTHING, but the spinach sounds yummy! We’re eating delicious lettuce and spinach from our garden already, and there’s one strawberry that should be ripe any day now. Dal took a gardening class from a pro down here in our area, and he is so excited about the garden this year. It looks to be a promising crop. 😉
    Enjoy your food!

    Reply
  3. Kara

     /  June 14, 2008

    Sounds so yummy! Hope you had a great dinner.

    Reply
  4. Evelyn

     /  June 15, 2008

    Looks delicious, and I want to try the herbed butter.
    On another note, are your hand-spun yarns for sale? Please let me know. Thanks.

    Reply
  5. Never heard that people ate radish greens but they look good, will keep an eye out for some. But then we have to eat 2 bunches of radishes?

    Reply
  6. Hmmm I didn’t know you could eat radish greens… how do you sautée them? Just add some oil to a frying pan and dump them in?
    Cheers Eva – who would like to know too if your handspun’s up for sale hehehe

    Reply

Something to Say?

