Spinning: Something Old and Something New

Img_1243Since my friend Eva pushed me to start spinning again, it’s like I’ve instantlyImg_1244
become addicted again.  Spinning is getting much more attention than knitting now, and I’m already very excited again about all of the possibilities.  I’ve decided to try and get some of the old stuff spun up while also getting some of the newer stuff done too.  Today I have old and new!  The new is the finished yarn that I did not such a great job on.  The fiber came as a surprise present from Eva (she’s so sweet!), who got it from this etsy seller.  It is very pretty stuff, but different from what I’m used to spinning so that’s my excuse for not getting it as nice as it could be.  Anyway, I will use it for a scarf of something for The Baby.  It’s about 100 or so yards of a bulky 3-ply.

Img_1245
The old is some stuff I got at the Great Basin Fiber Arts Fair in it’s first year.  It is from Judy’s Novelty Wool, a colorway called Dew on the Moab Desert.  I’ve already gotten half of it spun and the other half should be done today too.  I had 8 ounces of it originally, the other 4 went to make my Energized Socks.  This batch will be different as I plan on doing a 2-ply.  I’m also planning onImg_1249
something for The Baby with this yarn. 

I was cruising blogs yesterday and I had to laugh when I saw Yarn Harlot’s post from yesterday.  Look at her yarn she made – is mine not very similar?  Mine is definitely more yellow than green, but I thought they were otherwise pretty darn close to the same.  Kind of funny and weird.  Anyway, that’s it for today, have a great day πŸ™‚

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Spinning is in the air! Spring must bring out the best in us;-)

    Reply
  2. Oooooohhhhhh pretty!!!! I like the orange stuff πŸ™‚ And batts are indeed tricky to spin from aren’t they? I’m going to try a ‘new’ way of doing it with my next set of batts. I’m trying to find a way that I’m comfortable spinning them.
    I like the roving you’re spinning too… and still love the green stuff πŸ™‚ Off to read the YH’s post πŸ™‚

    Reply

Something to Say?

