Cables and Corrugations

I have a new pair of socks to show off, surprise surprise eh?  As I told you about these before, they are theImg_1221
Cables and Corrugations socks from Cat Bordhi’s book, New Pathways for Sock Knitters.  I know I have said it before, but this book is great!  And if you don’t have it by Img_1223
now, well something is wrong with you 😉  I have knit at least 6 pairs from this book, maybe more (I don’t know off the top of my head) and I plan to knit a few more from it too.  There is just something about this new-fangled way of creating socks that I really, really like.  Anyway, let’s talk about the socks.  I did them with a different gauge than the pattern in the book called for, using 46 stitches to start with.  I had to change up the cable chart a little bit in order to accommodate the lesser number of stitches.  I ended up having to do more arch increases than I had calculated too for some reason, but in the end after some frogging and some more frogging, it all worked out.  The heel is still a little weird and I don’t know exactly why, but the important thing is that they fit now!  So here’s the stats:

  • Pattern – Cables and Corrugations by Cat Bordhi
  • Yarn – Socks that Rock mediumweight, colorway Monsoon from the 2007 sock club (took me long enough to knit them right?!)
  • Needles – US Size 2 1/2
  • Took me – 5 days

I have also started a new pair of socks, wow huh?  I’m trying to use up some old self dyed yarn that has been lingering in the stash for far too long now.  The pattern is one of the Four-Stitch Reticulated Patterns from Sensational Knitted Socks.  So far I think they are pretty neat, crazy, but neat!  I’ll give you a sneak peek before they are done.  That’s all I’ve got for now – have a great day!

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I’ll admit to something wrong with me. Takes 5 months not days to finish a pair of socks. Love the blue sweater too. Looks like a great fit.

    Reply
  2. baddaddy

     /  May 22, 2008

    you know, i don’t understand most of what you talk about here, but i have to tell you.. you have the coolest socks in the world! 😉

    Reply
  3. Great socks, Love that color!

    Reply

Something to Say?

