Vegas for the second time

Vegas was really fun.  I didn’t win money this time, but I did have some exciting moments, like the laImg_1062Img_1101

st few hours before we had to leave and I had 380 credits on a dollar machine that I had only put in $20 – woot!  We did more than gamble though.  We had dinner at a couple of amazing places.  I’m now of the opinion that if you are ever there, you MUST go to the Firefly.  They are a tapas place that has an extremely good red sangria, yum!  We tried a few really great tapas, like stuffed dates and filet mignon sliders, all were excellent.  A now favorite and must for us is also Mesa Grill.  I love Bobby
Flay and he really comes through with his restaurant here.  I had the pork tenderloin with pecan butter and a sweet potato tamale this time, to die for.  It’s really fun for me to go to a nice place and experiment and Img_1067_2
not care about the price really, but I can only do it oh, once a year?!  Anyway,Img_1102 they were both great and I enjoyed them immensly.

We also discovered Red Rock this time around.  We went early on Saturday morning and spent half of the day there.  We left with major sunburns, but we still had a great time there too.  I felt good about getting 3 hours worth of hiking in, especially after the drink I had had the night before.  This place was absolutely beautiful, and I wish we Img_1079
could have spent more time there, or been more in shape to do more hiking!

I have been knitting again, since I’m a little under the weather I decided I should at least get back to knitting.  I’m working on my saddle shoulder sweater, on which I changed my mind and I’m now making it a seamless hybrid.  I’m working on one saddle right now and I hope to be done with the whole sweater soon.  I’m itching to finish it so that I can not feel guilty about starting another top! 

That’s all I’ve got for now, hopefully my next post will be about a finished sweater 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Sangria! Yum!
    Sounds like you had a great time.

    Reply
  2. Kara

     /  April 18, 2008

    What a fun trip. I love Bobby Flay; so jealous that you got to eat at his restaurant. The food sounds amazing. Vacations are usually about the food for me 🙂

    Reply
  3. Keith

     /  April 19, 2008

    Sounds like a great holiday – he said jealously.
    I noticed your book-roll. Another good book is Thomas L. Friedman’s The World Is Flat. He gives a very entertaining talk at MIT about the books as well: http://mitworld.mit.edu/play/264/
    TTFN

    Reply
  4. Wow, it sounds like you had a great time!

    Reply

Something to Say?

