Still around

It seems like it’s been so long since I’ve regularly blogged that I don’t even know how to start a post now.  IImg_1011
have been knitting, trying to finish two pairs of socks.  One is the Philosopher’s House Socks from Cat Bordhi’s New Pathways book, in my handspun teal BFL.  I like them enough, though the pattern isn’t really exciting and it doesn’t show up all that great in the yarn.  I’m also doing a totally boring stockinette pair on which I just finished the heel.  I’ve also started one of the latest uber-popular patterns in the Ravelry queues, the Lace Ribbon Scarf from Veronik Avery.  I can’t decide if I love or hate the  pattern with the yarn I chose (Pagewood FarmImg_1012
Bamboo sock yarn), but I will keep going until I decide. 

I’ve been reading almost every day while I bike in the mornings, and I’m about halfway through The Hot Zone.  This book is really hard to read.  Between learning what a virus does to a person, (especially about one like Ebola) and then about what happens to the monkeys that are used in labs, sometimes my stomach just turns thinking about it.  But it is very interesting andImg_1013_2
captivating despite what I just said about it.  I’m surprised I’m not having nightmares about it!

That’s all I’ve got, have a great day!  Hopefully next time I write I’ll have some finished socks to show off 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I’ve been looking forward to seeing some people knit that Lace Ribbon Scarf, so I can see how it turns out!

    Reply
  2. That books sounds a bit rough, but I guess it is really interesting too.
    Lovely colours on that scarf.

    Reply
  3. Me, I never got through that book…Do you like non-fiction?

    Reply

Something to Say?

