Taking a break

First off thank you all for the wonderful comments on my last post!  I am still not receiving comments through my email and so I do apologize for not getting back to all of you.  Hopefully it will get fixed soon, but until then I will make more of an effort to get back to you through email or your blogs. 

So I’m feeling some pain/soreness in my left hand down around my thumb, and I think the culprit is the marathon-like spinning and knitting I’ve been doing lately.  So I’m trying to take a break, hopefully it will feel better soon.  I did knit up a pair of socks from the Fire on the Mountain yarn, but I don’t have a picture yet.  So instead I will distract you with some good eats!  We ate out at my favorite place on Friday night where they had an appetizer we hadn’t tried before.  I decided that I could recreate it at home and it did turn out pretty good if I do say so myself.  In fact it had to be good, because even The Baby ate it!!  It is kind of likeImg_0968
guacamole with added benefits, anyway here it is. 

Avocado Jalapeno Hummus

1-2 smallish avocados
1-2 jalapenos, seeded and minced (or more if you like them a lot!)
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 can of garbanzo beans rinsed and drained
juice of 1/2 a lemon or lime (or more, depending on taste)
2 scallions, sliced semi-thin

Put all of the above in your trusty food processor and mix it well until it gets kind of pasty and uniform.  Add 2 tablespoons -1/4 cup of olive oil while the processor is running, until it looks like a consistency you will like.  I also added a bit of coriander, cumin, oregano and of course salt and pepper – I’d say about 1/2 teaspoon of each, but it could have used more for my tastes. 

We had ours with some flatbread and sun-dried tomatoes, the coleslaw is just there so we could say we had a vegetable 😉  I have to say that regular hummus is completely boring to me, so this is a great way to beef up the avocado with some fiber and protein from the beans.  This one isn’t spicy even with the peppers, it just gives it a really nice flavor.  I bet it’d be great with the jalapenos roasted first! 

Have a great day and enjoy the hummus if you try it! 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I have two small avocados and thought about making guacamole. You’re hummus sounds much better and will fit in without soup tonight! Thanks! Take care of your thumb. Mine was acting up on Friday and I babied it Saturday…it’s much better now! (Ice might help, too.)

    Reply
  2. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, sun-dried tomatoes. 🙂
    And, uh, hummus? ;S (LOL)

    Reply
  3. yum–that sounds good. All yummy ingredients.
    You knit a pair of socks? In a couple of days?

    Reply
  4. How yummy that sounds! I’m going to try it. Rats, I should have bought avocados at Costco yesterday…

    Reply
  5. Looks yummy! Too bad Hubbster hates hummus. 😦
    I starting knitting the handspun last night, it rocks! I’m going to blog pictures today, hopefully. Everyone at Sn’B thought it was awesome yarn.

    Reply

Something to Say?

