Two for one

Img_0940We finally got outside today to take some pictures of the Logan River Wrap andImg_0957
my EZ’s Percentage Sweater, yay!  I loved knitting both of these, and I love the finished product even more than the process.  Miriam is an uber-talented designer and I love all of her designs, there is never a disappointment when I knit one of her patterns.  What can I say about EZ?  Thankfully she was around to also be super talented and pass on her knowledge Img_0959for all of us and many more knitters to come.  All I had to do was knit a gauge
swatch and follow her directions, and my sweater came out pretty much perfect.  I’m so glad I decided to do a Henley neck, I think it just made the sweater πŸ™‚  Okay, here’s the stats:

  • Pattern – Logan River Wrap by Miriam Felton, found in Interweave Knits Winter 2007
  • Yarn – Queensland Collection Kathmandu Aran, just over 6 skeins
  • Needles – US Size
  • Took me – A month and a half
  • Comments – Fabulous pattern.  Interesting but easily memorized,
    and I loved the short rows in the border!Img_0962_2
  • Pattern – Elizabeth Zimmerman’s fair isle yoke sweater – I used directions from The Opinionated Knitter
  • Yarn – Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool – about 6 skeins of main color and less than half a skein of each contrasting color
  • Needles – US Sizes 5 and 6
  • Took me – A month and a half
  • Comments – Another fabulous ‘pattern’.  I chose to do a Henley neck just as I got to the colorwork, and I did the garter stitch neckline as pictured in the book I used.  Love it!

The Baby did a better job at modeling the wrap,Img_0960 so she gets the main picture on that one.  I wish I had better scenery outside my front door, or in my backyard for that matter, so please ignore any ugliness like the neighbor’s truck or fire hydrants, etc πŸ˜‰
Have a great weekend!  I’ll just be hanging out and knitting my Sheep 2 Shoe socks, with some spinning mixed in for sure!

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Beautiful. All of it! The sweater, the wrap, the girls…. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  2. And even better – look how well the wrap goes with the EPS! The baby looks adorable with the wrap, what a cute photo!

    Reply
  3. The sun on your hair is just lovely.
    I’m so impressed by that sweater; it’s really beautiful. And your Logan River Wrap inspires me to get mine back out and work on it!.

    Reply
  4. Wow… gorgeous knitting!!! I just love that first picture of the 2 of you!!!
    One of these days I’ll be brave enough to do an EZ sweater πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Fabulous job on both! The sweater looks so good. I’m almost ready to start my yoke!

    Reply
  6. Great job on both! I love the wrap, and the seater came out great.

    Reply
  7. Wow – the sweater is just awesome! Beautiful fit and the ELSW drapes very nicely. I’m thinking I need to make an EPS with a lighter weight yarn like this. Congrats!

    Reply
  8. That sweater is just perfect! What a timeless design and the colors you used gave it a modern twist.
    The Logan stole is sooo cozy looking–beautiful too!

    Reply
  9. The sweater is just so beautiful and perfect. And the colours are great, I like blue. It looks very good on you.

    Reply
  10. Thanks so much for the photos of your EZ henley. You confirmed I need to try this style, too – once I’m done with my current one.
    I find all the knitbloggers’ photos of that wrap so much more inspiring than the ones in the magazine. Lovely color.
    I’ve been having the comments-notification problem with TypePad for months. If you get yours fixed, please let me know how. It’s such a pain.

    Reply

Something to Say?

