Just fiber eye candy today

Img_0933I’m still not getting comments through my email, so I really apologize for not getting back to you guys!  I have a help ticket going, so I hope it will get resolved soon.  I swear I’m not ignoring you all!!

I managed to go yet another day without taking pictures of the Logan River Wrap and the EPS, so I have to show you something else.  It’s been all about the fiber here, hardly any knitting getting done.  I know, sad.  I’ve been dyeing away and I now have an almost obscene amount of dyed wool hanging around my house in various places.  I’m soaking 1 1/2 pounds of superwash merino right now to be dyed later on today too!  So I’ll show you some of what I’ve done. 

In the spinning department, I did something really silly.  AImg_0928
while ago on a whim, I picked up an ounce of casmere at Three Wishes.  I decided there was no time like the present last night and just went for it.  I did the most horrible job ever!!  Since the fibers are so short, you apparently have to use the long draw method, and while I’ve done that – it’s been a long time.  Eventually I caught on, but it was still not great.  I did two separate bobbins and came up with about 60 yards of a 2-ply yarn.  What am I going to do with that?!  It was fun anyway, but next time (if there is one for cashmere) I’ll practice a bit more before diving in.

Img_0926
Img_0925
I also managed to spin up some Ravelry roving that I got from Spunky Eclectic a while ago.  I was going for nice and soft singles, but it didn’t quite turn out how I wanted it to, there are spots where I didn’t have enough fiber or enough twist.  I’m still happy with it, of course, and now I just need to find something suitable to knit with it.  I also started spinning up some Blue Face Leicester that I dyed.  I’m planning a 3-ply sock yarn and I’m thinking that it will turn out pretty nicely.

Last, I think the Fire on the Mountain yarn is pretty much dry, finally!  I have to put it by the heater and make sure, the house was pretty cold when I checked on it this morning and I’m not sure if it was just cold, or damp.  Hopefully I can split it up and get to knitting!!   Have a great day šŸ™‚

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. My goodness are you planning to open a shop??? Those colors are all gorgeous… I love the orange one in the middle and then the orange/yellow/brown ones beside that šŸ™‚
    As for the spun up yarn, you could do an Argosy hehehe. I’m addicted to that one right now šŸ™‚
    Cheers Eva

    Reply
  2. Gee, what nice bright colors! Definitely eye candy.

    Reply
  3. beautiful colors!
    I brought my spinning endeavors to S’nB tonight and I had some of that Ravelry, too. Mine was a mess, but I kinda like it anyway.

    Reply
  4. Yum! I’m coming over to raid your hand-dyed fiber…

    Reply
  5. Cashmere, oh la-la. 60 yards? Maybe a neck warmer? It would be lovely next to your skin.

    Reply

Something to Say?

