Playing Domestic Engineer

Img_0900 Yesterday was a busy day in the kitchen.  Early on I decided to make some bread, and evenImg_0901_2
though I left it in the oven a touch too long it was still very good.  You can’t really go wrong with warm bread and butter though, now can you?!  I love the smell of bread baking – as Rachel Ray would say, Yummo! 

Img_0899I also needed to use up some dates and raisins, and I found this recipe for Sugarless Bars.  They are so
good!  They ended up more like cake and they taste very nice.  I was quite impressed, and it is a super easy recipe too.  That recipe will definitely go in my recipe binder.   

Img_0904No one got left out here yesterday, not even The Puppy.  She got her own special batch of chicken flavored doggie treats.  I didn’t taste them but I assume she likedImg_0902
them as she’s
been sniffing around for more ever since I gave her one. 

I managed to cook up some fiber too.  Only a fiber enthusiast would think that dyed fiber looks good enough to eat I guess 😉  Not bad for a day’s work, at least for me anyway.

Img_0907_2I’ve finally finished what could possibly be the fugliest socks ever knitted.  It’s okay.  I know.  They are Fugly.  The Boyfriend says they aren’t that bad, but yes, yes they are.  The colors looked fine to me in the ball, but man once I started knitting this yarn I couldn’t believe it.  The yarn is Steinbach Woole Aktiv Effekt, and while I hate the colors I really like how the yarn feels.  It is nice and soft and it really was a pleasure to knitwith,  except for the occasional splitting.  I’m sure glad they are done though, and now I can move on with my life!  (And knit something pretty instead!)

That’s all I’ve got – have a great weekend!  Hopefully I’ll get some pictures taken of the cool FOs so I can show them off for you 🙂

Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Lauren, you amaze me. Look at you go, Ms. Domestic Goddess!! (BTW, those socks are pretty..um..well, you know.) 🙂

    Reply
  2. Mmmmm, I love fresh baked bread. I may have to whip out my bread pans later.
    The red and orange in the socks is nice, but I totally don’t get the other colors. Yeah, a little fug. At least they’re comfy, right?!

    Reply
  3. I bow to your domestic accomplishments!
    And I’ve got to agree, that colorway isn’t the best ever. Nice socks, though.

    Reply
  4. Mmmmm – fresh bread, yum! As for the socks, well, camouflage and hunter orange? Maybe you need to go camping. But comfy socks should be enjoyed anyway.

    Reply
  5. I’m going to skip commenting on all the food and socks… But girl, all that fiber looks super yummy!!! I can’t wait to see what you’ll spin up with these… I’m especially curious about the on in right bottom corner… dark green and dark red…
    Cheers Eva

    Reply
  6. Kara

     /  February 22, 2008

    It all sounds and looks yummy! I think I will go make bread myself.

    Reply
  7. Dude, I still can’t believe you made your own dog biscuts.

    Reply
  8. I’m thinking those are great socks to wear with jeans and, um, boots. Yeah.

    Reply

Something to Say?

