Feeling good

Img_0728
Over the weekend I finished some stuff, started something new, watch many movies and did a budget.  FirstImg_0724
the stuff that I finished.  Okay, I finished the seed stitch scarf last week and just didn’t take a picture until about 5 minutes ago, regardless here it is.  I used two skeins of Mirasol Miski in the Coral colorway and size 9 needles.  Casted on 19 stitches and just went to town with k,p,k,p…until I ran out of yarn!  It is a short scarf and I have maybe 3 options for wearing, but I love it.  This yarn is super soft, super pretty, and just overallImg_0729
yummy! 

Next I have a pair of socks for my niece.  She helped me pick out the yarn so I thought it would be nice to make her something from it.  The yarn is Fat Sock in the Soft Serve colorway from Hello Yarn.  I used a basic formula from the New Pathways for Sock Knitters book and they were very quick to knit being small and also on size 3 needles.  Aren’t they just Hemlock_in_progresstoo cute?!  Good thing I bought plenty of this Img_0735
yarn and I can still do something for me.  I hope she likes them!

I also had to start something new, the Hemlock Ring Blanket in some Cascade EcoWool that I got from WEBS.  It is really fun, and it is nice to be knitting some lacy type stuff again.  I think I’ve stayed away from lace for too long, and I need to do more of it.  Time to cast on a big old stole or something, yes?

Well in other stuff, I mentioned I did my budget.  I talked about it last year in January, stuck to it for a couple of months and then just blew it.  I’m getting back on the wagon again, finally.  I’m still in about the same amount of debt, and how I’ve figured it out it should take me just under 5 years to get out of it.  IF I stick to the budget.  So I gave The Boyfriend my two credit cards to lock away for me since that is the only way I won’t use them!  I’m doing the envelope with cash system besides what I do with my online bill pay.  I’m actually pretty excited about the whole thing, and I don’t think I’ve left out anything so it should be fairly easy to stick to it.  Now just to stay focused and on top of it!  I know I can do it though.  I’m tired of feeling tied down and never getting anywhere.  Enough of that though – I just wanted to get it out in public for some reason! 

I’m so planning on making it to SnB tomorrow night so you girls can help me with my color dilemma.  I’m all better from being sick and other than being tired from a drive to and from the Provo-ish area tomorrow, I shouldn’t have anything getting in my way of making a measly 15 minute drive to SnB.  I had a great time on my birthday and feel pretty good for being so old all of a sudden 😉  Have a great day!  I’m going to 🙂

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. for some reason, I love seed stitch! reversible, interesting texturally and visually, easy to do. I have a seed stitch scarf, too!
    I hate budgeting, but with minimal income, it’s a necessity. It’s tough to stick to, but it’s nice when every once in a while there’s an extra $20 for yarn or pizza. Good luck with it!

    Reply
  2. Ah- budgets, the necessary evil. Our funds (being a one income family) are extremely limited so I have a budget so tight that it squeaks.

    Reply
  3. Oh my gosh, those socks are so freakin’ cute! I hope she likes them too!! Cuz I’ll sure be embarrassed if she says something like, “I don’t like them. They’re ugly.” (LOL – she won’t say that…. will she?)
    And I LOVE that scarf! It looks so warm and cozy.
    Good luck on the budget (you can do it!), and I can’t wait to see what colors y’all pick out for the sweater. 🙂
    (P.S. – you might have more SNOW to get in your way tomorrow… but that’s never stopped you, now has it!? – hee hee)

    Reply
  4. Glad you’re planning to come – and good luck with the budget! At least you have plenty of stash to knit from.

    Reply
  5. Good for you, budgeting! Hard, but worth it in the end. We’ve been working off one we did for around four months, and it’s hard but necessary.

    Reply

Something to Say?

