Happy Birthday to Me!

Well it is official, I am now 31 years old!  It’s hard for me to believe that I was even 30 and now 31?  All of a sudden I’m starting to feel old πŸ˜‰  We’ll probably just be going out to dinner at my favorite place to celebrate.  I’ve bought enough yarn this month and I can’t justify any more right now, so I guess I got my own present(s) early. Img_0720

Img_0707With that out of the way, I need help.  I cannot decide what color combo I want to use for my EPS yoke.  I’m doing mine like the one pictured, and I want it to look pretty similar, but with some variation on the color.  But I can’t decide!  The main color is a cream, pretty much like the one in the picture.  For the contrast colors I had originally picked two blues, a green, and two  tans/beiges.  I’m not sure if I like the bright blue tImg_0712hough.  So I thought maybe I could switch it for purple and take out the darker tan.  I still wasn’t sure though.  I think that since most of the colors are so similar, maybe I don’t have enough contrast?  I don’t know.  The last one shows all of the colors I have right now that I could use.  What do you think?  I guess I ended up with so much blue because I just love it and had a hard timImg_0719_1e picking anything else!  The sweater pictured also uses mostly blues and greys.  If you had to choose, which ones would you pick?  Or would you add another color that doesn’t have to do with blue? πŸ˜‰  Any input will be greatly appreciated, not that I’m even close to starting the yoke – I still have another sleeve to knit!

In other stuff, I’ve finished the seed stitch scarf and it just needs a picture.  I am also knitting what could possibly be the world’s fugliest sock ever, but you’ll have to wait for that one.  I’m finally feeling a little better from that crappy cold thing I had, so I’m planning on having a good weekend and I hope you have one too!

Next Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, you young whippersnapper!
    As for the colors, I held my “value finder” up to the screen (don’t know how accurate it is on photos), and it looks like for value contracts, if your last photo’s yarn is numbered 1-8 from left to right, you should use 7 and 8, pick one from 2/3, pick one from 4/5/6, and then the last one can be any of the remaining. Like maybe 1, 3, 6, 7, and 8. Or, you could just use 4 of those colors and also use the body color as one of them.
    But really, you should bring them to SnB and we can all look at them and discuss. It’s hard to tell from photographs.

    Reply
  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, SIS! Love you!
    I’m not able to give you such a wonderful breakdown of color values, but I think all the colors you had there are beautiful. Though, I don’t think I would add in green if I were making it for me. But that’s just me.
    Good luck! Taking it all to SnB for group input sounds like a great idea! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Happy Birthday! Enjoy your birthday dinner!
    Picking colors is hard! I think you need a high contrast, though. Bring ’em and let the grrls weigh in.

    Reply
  4. Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  5. Happy Birthday, Lauren!
    Come to SnB on Tuesday and we’ll help you decide.

    Reply
  6. Happy Birthday!!
    Value is so important. If you twist two colors together and squint you can tell if they contrast or blend. We’ll be happy to help at SnB, too!

    Reply
  7. HAPPY BIRTHDAY OH YOUNG ONE πŸ™‚
    I would leave the tans out of the equation, but that’s because I don’t care for tan hehehe. If you need a very light color you could use the background color.
    I like the idea of twisting 2 colors together to see if they’re giving enough contrast or not.
    Cheers Eva

    Reply
  8. Happy Birthday! I like 1,2,5,6 and 8 for the colors. I’m sure either way, it’ll be lovely!
    I hope your day is great.

    Reply
  9. jkfcddh

     /  January 25, 2008

    hey, little sister.
    congratulations, you’re officially an old woman! YIPPEE! don’t worry, it’s downhill from here.
    hope you had a super fantastic birthday. if not, well, tomorrow’s saturday. πŸ˜‰
    love,
    james

    Reply
  10. Thanks for the birthday wishes! Happy birthday to you too – I hope you had a great day. You know…my sister’s name is Lauren and her birthday is the 25th too – at first glance I thought maybe it was her who commented πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. Happy birthday, Laureen. Age is just a word, you know..

    Reply

Something to Say?

