Psst

It’s my anniversary!  Three years ago tonight I quit smoking.  One of the best choices I ever made.  These are the details from my counter and Quitnet.com:

1094 days smoke free.

27346 cigarettes not smoked.

$5,401.63 and 6 months, 28 days, 21 hours of your life saved.

Your quit date: 1/12/2005 9:10:00 PM

It’d be nice if I had actually saved that money they say I did, but no, I have nothing to show for it except that I’m not stinky anymore.  I do still like the occasional smell of someone smoking, but I’m glad that someone is not me! 

P.S. The contest is still open if you haven’t entered yet 🙂

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. CONGRATS!!!! That is amazing! My fiancee is trying to quit and it’s not been easy for him. I have to be patient but I’m not a smoker so sometimes that can be hard for me. I just hope we can say someday it’s been three years!! Congrats!! I think your amazing! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Wonderful! (I used to smoke, too. Nasty habit.) Now go buy yourself some yarn to celebrate.

    Reply
  3. Congratulations! I´ve never smoked my self, but many of my friends does. They tries to quit all the time… I´ve understood that it takes as we say in Sweden “A will of steel” to manige to stop smokeing. You must be really strong!

    Reply
  4. Congratulations!!! I really admire you for accomplishing that feat. What a wonderful achievement! As your sister, personally, I’m glad that you’ve tacked on that extra time to your life, because I love having you around. 🙂
    Love you! And You’re Awesome!!!

    Reply
  5. Good for you!!!!
    Okay, you do not have the money, but on the other hand, you were able to spend it on things that didn’t go up in smoke (pun intended :))!!!
    Cheers Eva

    Reply
  6. Wow, congrats! Hopefully someday, I can say the same thing.

    Reply
  7. That’s fantastic! Just think of the yarn you were able to buy instead!

    Reply
  8. That is amazing, I smoke, and try to qiut, but I guess my head is not really motivated yet.
    I do really hope I can make it during this year.

    Reply
  9. Congratulations! Happy smoking-free anniversary.

    Reply
  10. Congrats to you! 🙂

    Reply
  11. Fantastic! Very well done. I gave up 8 years ago this month & definitely don’t miss it. In fact I hate the smell now & have turned into one of those militant anti-smoking types (blush).
    I think you deserve to buy yourself some yarn to celebrate :0)

    Reply
  12. Eileen

     /  January 13, 2008

    Congrats, such an excellent accomplishment! Treat yourself, take a deep breath (and go buy yarn and chocolate).

    Reply
  13. Wow! That’s really amazing!! Congratulations!! Any tips to pass along for other trying to quit? Maybe every time you want to smoke, you should put the money for a pack in a jar, and then at the end of each month you can buy yourself something special fiber-wise!

    Reply
  14. Congrats! I just quit at Thanksgiving and it’s been wonderful. I won’t have the cash either. I decided to treat myself to a gym membership and a massage every week. It’s still coming out cheaper than the cigs.

    Reply

Something to Say?

