Contest winner, a new look, and more!

So first off, thanks to everyone for visiting my blog and participating in the contest!  I was extremely happy to see so many new people coming here – thanks so much and don’t be strangers!  So after a random drawing, the winner of the book is Maria, who didn’t have a blog address.  Thanks again to everyone for playing.  As I mentioned before, this is not the only giveaway.  I will be doing another this Friday and the next, so stay tuned.  The last Friday of the month is my birthday, sorry I wasn’t clear enough on the last post.  So thanks for all of the early birthday wishes šŸ˜‰

I was going to wait to change up the look of my blog, but apparently I am more impatient than normal these days.  I couldn’t wait to do it.  I like it a lot, especially the new header, and I hope it is appealing to all of your eyes as well.  If you’re reading in bloglines or the like, make sure you come to the blog and check it out!

I’ve been working on a few items, trying to get things finished up that I’ve been wImg_0581orking on for a while, and also some new items that I’m pretty excited about.  I did finally finish up my second pair of Serpentine mitts that I started way back when Mim asked for test knitters.  Took me long enough huh?  I like these ones a lot.  They are made from Knitpicks Gloss which I really liked working with.  The finished product is especially nice too. 

The new things I’ve started are the Logan River Wrap, also from Mim, and my EZ’s Percentage Sweater out Img_0585Img_0591
of Silky Wool.  I’m trying to work on each of these at least once a day so that I feel like I’m making good progress on both.  The wrap pattern was easily memorized and I look forward to doing a repeat here and there when I have time.  The EPS is coming along nicely.  Mine will just be a pullover, with hemmed edges.  If you have the Opinionated Knitter book, I pretty much want mine to look like the one pictured on the back cover, only not a cardigan.  I still need to choose the contrasting colors though, but I have plenty of time to do that.  I casted on 95% of my total body stitches and knit a few rows, increased to 100% before the turning row and then did a few more rows on larger needles before working the hem.  I bypassed the provisional cast-on and just picked up stitches from the cast on edge and worked them with the live stitches.  It does leave a mark, but I kind of like it and am okay with it.  I’ve done a few decreases for a little bit of shaping and I’m starting to increase again.  The mindless stockinette makes for easy knitting-while-reading, but I also look forward to joining sleeves and body (when I get there) and moving onto a bit of colorwork.

Can yoImg_0598u handle more?!  In the spirit of NaSpiMoMo, I have been spinning every day for at leasImg_0595_1_2t a half and
hour.  I had this merino/tencel blend sitting on the bobbin for a few months
now, and I finally finished it up.  It is pretty and shiny and I’m so glad it is finally done!  The Sheep 2 Shoe kit I bought has finally made it’s way to the wheel and I’m working on the first bobbin now.
That’s all I’ve got for today, as if that wasn’t enough!  Have a great day šŸ™‚

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Look at you, busy knitter! The mitts are fantastic!
    Why do you go up a needle size? I’m doing a hem as well, but I cast on 100%.

    Reply
  2. Hey. All your stuff looks great!
    Just wanted you to know that I used the wrap you made me TWICE this last week. And I am wearing the socks you made me more and more because they keep my cold toesies so freakin’ warm!
    We went to gymnastics class Saturday, and we actually used the babies’ snow hats you made them (it was sooooo freaking cold with that crazy storm – can you believe I ventured out in it!?). They worked great! Mainly because we were able to tie them on to their heads and they couldn’t pull them of (ha, ha!).
    Thanks again for your awesomeness, you awesome knitter. šŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. BTW, I like the new look. šŸ™‚ That header picture is really pretty…

    Reply
  4. I like how your Logan River wrap is turning out! Nice color.

    Reply
  5. Love the new look!

    Reply
  6. Pretty… very pretty… and that includes all of it hehehe.
    Cheers Eva

    Reply

Something to Say?

