Handspun, socks, and a book giveaway

**ETA: I will pick a winner for the book on Sunday night, so leave a comment before then if you want the book! 

So as I said, in celebration for my upcoming birthday, I want to give some things away.  The first is a book that somehow I ended up with two copies of.  I know it is a popular one, so many of you might already have it.  Still, I don’t need two copies, so I’m hoping I can give it to someone who doesn’t have it!  So the book is Interweave Knits’  Favorite Socks.  All you have to do is comment, and I will randomly choose a winner and announce it on Monday.Img_0566

Untitled1I’ve been doing a little more spinning lately, though it is pretty easy to do more spinning than none.  I dyed the rovings myself, and tried to split each color in half.  I spun each half onto its own bobbin and then plied them together.  I think they turned out really fun, and I’m pretty happy with them.  Too bad I’m giving them away!  I won’t say to who, but I hope the recipients like them!  They should make a fun little scarf or hat, may
be I’ll spin up some more of the roving and do that for myself πŸ™‚

Img_0578_1I also finished some socks that have been hanging around on the needles since last September when we went on vacation.  I had knit the pair, only to find out that when I switched to metal needles on the second sock that they were two different sizes.  I ripped the smaller one and re-knit it.  I wasn’t looking forward to it which is why it took me so long.  I think that is one of the most annoying things that I do with my knitting, not paying attention and then having to entirely redo something.  Well I’m glad it’s finally done, and aren’t they pretty? 

Thanks for looking, as always, and have a great weekend!

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I’m still insanely jealous of your spinning! Such pretty, pretty stuff. I think I need to make a resolution to knit more socks this year.

    Reply
  2. 35 pair of socks, that’s amazing. I reached 18 pairs and was quite happy with that.
    Beautiful yarn the handspun, the brown one was really nice.
    About the book, don’t include me in the contest, because I have it too.
    Wish you a very nice weekend.

    Reply
  3. Oooohh that book looks awesome. One of my goals for 2008 is to learn to knit socks ^^ Happy Birthday too! *returns to lurking*

    Reply
  4. Alice

     /  January 4, 2008

    Your spinning is fantastic. I love the orange and brown combination.

    Reply
  5. Anita

     /  January 4, 2008

    I knit one sock smaller using a different needle size too. but I never re knit mine. Your socks turned out pretty.

    Reply
  6. I love the socks, it was worth perserving. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. Happy Belated Birthday! I’d love to be added to the drawing for the book ~ I gave mine away in a swap and haven’t replaced it yet. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  8. Leah (Plucky)

     /  January 5, 2008

    Love the handspun! *drool* Love the socks. I am so totally jealous of anyone’s ability to knit socks. After 14 years of knitting and I still am afraid of them. LOL
    If only I had the right book to teach me…;)

    Reply
  9. I saw your handspun on Ravelry. Nice!

    Reply
  10. I am a new knitter – finishing 4 scarves right away before I got bored. Then I asked my friend (who taught me to knit) to teach me how to knit socks. That was in late October and I’ve finished three pairs, including a great pair for my husband for Christmas – that fit perfectly and that he loves! Your blog is great and an inspiration to me – as well as a challenge! (i.e. how can anyone possibly knit 35 pairs of socks, plus other stuff, and still have a life?)

    Reply
  11. Amy

     /  January 6, 2008

    One of my knitting goals for 2008 is to learn to knit socks. Happy Birthday.

    Reply
  12. Maria

     /  January 6, 2008

    Happy Birthday! I’d love the book – my next project is socks, I’m a newbie so I need lots of documentation!

    Reply

Something to Say?

