Sock Yarn Mittens and Scarf

Scarf_and_mittensUpon examining The Baby’s mittens the other day, it was painfully obvious that they were way too small.  And not warm enough.  That quickly became this past weekend’s project so she could have some new mittens to wear to school, in order to have fun in the snow with all of the other kids.  I knit up a pair that was way too big.  Then I decided I should try thrummed mittens.  After 3 failed attempts at that, I was ready to give up, but I didn’t.  I went to the sock yarn leftover bag and picked out three semi-matching colors, picked out a size 4 needle, and went to town with a triple strand.  I added an i-cord to the ends of the finished mittens so I could thread them through her coat for a better chance of them not getting lost.  Finally I was able to make a decent pair that actually fit, and they should be pretty warm as they are really thick. 

After I finished the mittens, there was still plenty of yarn left so I thought I’d make a cute little neck warmer for her.  I did the same triple strands and used size 8 needles this time.  Pretty soon after I started I decided I’d just knit until the yaScarf_and_mittens1rn was gone and end up with a short skinny scarf.  I couldn’t have planned it better – I used up almost every last bit of the yarn!  Too bad I don’t have anymore to make a matching hat, oh well.  I feel like such a good mommy now .  I avoided grabbing some ready-mades at the store, even though the project turned into a major pain.  Of course it made it easy when The Boyfriend said he’d ridicule me for life if I actually went out to buy mittens 🙂

  • Mittens and Little Scarf – Used Ann Budd’s Handy Book of Patterns for the mittens, the scarf was a no-brainer garter stictch
  • Yarn  – Leftovers of self-dyed Knitpicks Bare, OnLine Supersocke, and Socks That Rock
  • Needles – US Sizes 4 for the mittens and 8 for the scarf
  • Took me – Half of a day
  • Comments – I love how the coloring on both of these turned out!  Just crossing my fingers that nothing gets lost now.
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. They’re awesome! I love them, and they look so warm and fun.
    Great job. 🙂

    Reply
  2. They both look amazing. Great job!!!

    Reply
  3. It’s so satisfying to make something to keep your family warm!

    Reply
  4. Ain’t she cute, yes, the scarf and the mittens were great too.

    Reply
  5. Those look great!!! Did The Baby get a haircut?? She looks so elegant hehehe 🙂

    Reply
  6. Kudos to you for not giving up – and I really love these, they look so amazing – as does your cute girlie!

    Reply

Something to Say?

