Plans for the new year

I know, it’s barely December, but I’m getting excited to see the new year come, for many reasons.  Let’s see, my birthday is in January, my sister’s birthday is also in January, and I’ll have a special anniversary in January too!  The best reason though, is that I get to buy yarn again next year!!  I’ve been doing the Stashalong thing for the better part of the year, since February I think, and it has been haaard!  In the interest of full disclosure, I have acquired some yarn this year, but only one purchase was for me to keep.  I have given away far more yarn than I have bought this year, and when I did buy it was only for gifts for other people – and yes, I went to my stash first.  I do not plan on going a crazy-yarn-buying-spree though.  I have a few things in mind that I’ve been wanting to do for a while now and I will be indulging myself in those, but no longer will I just buy because it’s pretty, or on sale, or whatever the reason.  I’ve realized even though I like to say that I hate consumerism, I do give in to a certain degree.  And part of the reason my stash is up to around 400 units of yarn (not counting leftovers, i.e. half-used skeins and such) is because I just like to have things.  I do it with books too.  And I need to stop!  Anyway, I will still be Stashing-along, just not to such a severe degree. 

After I get the must-haves out of my system, one thing I will be doing is participating in the Ravelry Greenies 2008 group.  The pledge will be to try and be environmentally and friendly in my knitting and yarn-buying.  This of course will be open to one’s interpretation, and I’m still working on what mine is.  So far I have this:

  • Try to buy locally whenever possible.  This for me means buy from local shops, yarn that is environmentally and/or socially responsible.   
  • Buy sustainable products.  That to me means Organic fiber, and if not organic or close to it, stuff that didn’t have to travel very far to get to me. 
  • The most important one is to still use the stash more than anything.  Let’s face it, my stash is pretty big and I should do my best to whittle it down. 

If you are on Ravelry, and are interested in participating, go check out the group!  Even if you don’t want to be part of the group, I think it is a great idea and more people should think about doing it.  I definitely need and want to, as I also need to think more about the environment in other things that I do.  Don’t worry though, at least I still very faithfully recycle, even if I do consume and drive a little too much.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. That sounds like a good goal, especially the knitting from stash part!

    Reply

Something to Say?

