Handspun hat, scarf, and mitts

Okay, I finally got a picture of the handspun set that I told you about.  I’m pretty happy with it, evenImg_0070 if the mitts are different sizes!  If you are interested or didn’t read about it before, you can check out a little more about the yarns I made and used for this project.  I know they aren’t perfect looking and are even a little crazy, but that’s what I love about handspun.  I think it is just what I needed for a little unexpected fun in my knitting!  I winged it on all three of these and used no pattern help whatsoever (no big deal, right?).  I did the scarf lengthwise with about 190 stitches and a gauge of about 3 sts/inch.  I added fringe after 13 rows off Img_0058garter stitch and a bind-off.  I had just enough left to do the brim for the hat, then I just picked up stitches along the brim to do the hat from the brim up.  I did run out of yarn so I had to add some Manos I had leftover but it almost blends in to where you don’t even notice.  For the mitts I just casted on 44 stitches and knit about 60 rows of garter stitch.  When I had enough width I just seamed up the edges, leaving a hole for the thumb – I know, total rocket science huh?  Anyway, here’s all of the other stats:

  • Yarn – my own handspun, one super bulky and one worsted weight
  • Needles – US Sizes 11 for the scarf, 11 and 6 for the hat, and 6 for the mitts
  • Took me – All of it took 3 days
  • Comments – Crazy and fun!  I just love knitting with my own yarn πŸ™‚

Thanks for looking – have a great weekend!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Fabulous! The color looks great on you. The whole project must have been fun from beginning to end. Good work!

    Reply
  2. Yay!! How great to have a “matched set” from your homespun. Now we just need some cold weather so you can enjoy them. (I can’t believe I just said that…)

    Reply
  3. How fun! And the Manos does blend perfectly. I love that long skinny sideways garter scarf!

    Reply
  4. Beautiful colours!

    Reply
  5. Gorgeous!!! Amazing how the 2 yarns blend so well!!! What colorway Manos is it??? I just want to know because it is a very Eva-friendly colorway πŸ™‚
    Cheers Eva

    Reply

Something to Say?

