1000 comments and Under the Sea yarn take 2

Well we made it to 1000 comments last night – woot!!  And the winner is…Utah grrrl Cheryl of Cabled Sheep!  I guess now I really need to get my butt back to SnB to give you your prize 😉  Thank you again to everyone for playing along with me!  Even though it is just a stat, it is a big milestone for me and it makes me feel good again about blogging.  I hope that you guys that de-lurked will keep it that way and visit me more often!

IImg_0048 didn’t have a lot of time to mess around with the new camera yesterday due to a trip to the ER (more about that later), but I did take a few pics of the latest yarns that have come off of my wheel.  I’ve already shown you the first batch of Under the Sea yarn, but I did finish up the rest of the roving on Saturday night.  Here is a side by side shot too, just for fun.  I still haven’t figured how to edit my shots at all, so these are just undoctored, straight from the camera.

I decided to just go for a novelty-type yarn so I was spinning the roving up kind Underthesea2_2of thick and thin and with big slubs in it.  I did two separate bobbins and then I had the idea to ply them with some sparkle thread that I picked up a while ago at the LFS Three Wishes.  It was a huge pain, but once it was done I was so happy with it!  I washed it in the sink using a new method I read about on Ravelry – I did a hot wash with a bit of agitation and then did a cold with more agitation, rinsed and repeated.  Then I kind of whacked it around and set it out flat to dry.  It still isn’t dry in this picture, but I don’t think there will be much difference at this point.  I really like how it turned out!  I’m so glad that I decided to add the sparkle thread – it gives it that something special right?  Anyway I had planned on using this yarn for The Baby, but I think I will use it for a cute scarf for me.  I hope it will be as great as I am seeing it in my head.  Now it’s got me all motivated to get some more yarn spun up, I just have to decide what fluff to use next!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Hope everyone’s OK!

    Reply
  2. Yippee! Congratulations on your milestone. I still have a ways to go on that.
    Hopefully your trip to the ER wasn’t anything too awful.
    I love your yarn – what gorgeous colors! Definitely do something for yourself with it.

    Reply
  3. Looks good! Sorry to hear about the pinkeye crud. Hope you guys all get better SOON!!! (Princess is hating it without the gymnastics class… everyday it’s “I going to go to gymnastics class today.” and everyday I say “Uh, sorry, no you’re not.”
    Get better SSSSSOOOOOONNNNN!!!! We miss you!

    Reply
  4. I really like it! I think it’ll make an awesome scarf.

    Reply
  5. jdpolson

     /  August 20, 2008

    Hello all,
    I’m currently researching various weight loss programs and courses.
    So, if you don’t mind please answer in this topic: What’s your single most important question about weight loss?
    Cheers, JD

    Reply

Something to Say?

