Friday night fun

Since I’ve been seeing a few Ribby Pullis done and also in progress on the blogs, Friday night I finally100_4196_2 decided to pull out the yarn (I’m using Janice) I bought for it forever ago and get it dyed up.  I first had to use up some old dye I had sitting around, so I just grabbed what natural Knitpicks sock yarn I had on hand and got to work.  It isn’t exactly the best stuff ever, but it turned out a lot better than I thought it would.  I did 3 skeins of the tweedy stuff and 1 of just plain superwash.  Again, not fantastic, but not horrible either right?

I100_4200 hadn’t planned on dyeing the yarn for the Ribby Pulli on Friday night but I decided that if I100_4201_2 was going to make a mess I should just do it once and not twice, so I just went for it.  I don’t know if it will work out how I was envisioning it, but I think I did an okay job on the dyeing part.  I had 6 skeins of 300 yards each before dyeing, and after dyeing it was around 250 yards each.  I did 2 skeins in the contrast color -sky blue and natural – and the rest was for the main color – sky blue, purple, and coal.  The next morning I hurried the drying of two skeins so that I could start knitting – I couldn’t wait!  It is turning out a little crazy and not what I had planned (I should have done shorter lengths of color) but so far I’m still happy with it so I will keep moving along with it.

100_4192I also got off my duff and plied up the bobbin of singles that has been sitting on my wheel all week.  The fiber is from Snake River Fiberworks in the Under the Sea colorway and if I had to guess this 100_4191_2would be about 3 1/2 ounces of it.  I still have about 4 ounces left that will be made into some bulky-ish yarn, that is the plan right now anyway, things could change!  I think I ended up with about 180 yards or so of an inbetween sock and dk weight yarn.  It is pretty, no?  I like it a lot.  I navajo plied it, which is quickly becoming a favorite method of mine.  My attention span is not what it used to be these days, and thinking about sitting through 3 bobbins of singles is a little more than I can take, so I’m all for the navajo-ply.

Okay, time to get back to knitting!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. The handspun is gorgeous! I really love the colors of it.

    Reply

Something to Say?

