Broad Street Mittens

Minus the buttons.  I have yet to go out in search of two cute buttons for these, but I know it may take a while so I’m just showing them as is.  These were a pretty fun and easy knit, even though I had to frog the first attempt because I couldn’t get as snug a fit as I100_4165 wanted.  I should say that they didn’t start out as Broad Street Mittens, just a pair of gloves using the Handy Book of Patterns by Ann Budd.  I knew I wanted to do something like convertible fingerless gloves though, so I used the Broad Street Pattern for the mitten shell.  They are for a friend that lives in what can be a very cold place in the winter (so I hear) and she rides a scooter around town there.  I thought they might be more functional than just a pair of gloves, so I hope she gets a kick out of them and can actually use them too.

  • Pattern – A hybrid of Broad Street Mittens and basic 100_4166gloves from Ann Budd’s Handy Book of Patterns
  • Yarn – Socks that Rock lightweight, colorway Rare Gems, about 3/4 skein
  • Needles – US Sizes 1 & 2
  • Took me – About a week
  • Comments – These are so cool, and I don’t want to give them away!  I may have to make some for myself.
Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. They ARE very cool!

    Reply
  2. Allyson

     /  October 24, 2007

    Love them! You’re so talented.

    Reply

Something to Say?

