Icarus

100_4067  I have finally finished Icarus!  As I told you before, I felt guilty about it having sat on the needles for so long – I started it back in April!  When I got back to knitting on it, it got done fairly quickly though.  I was pretty motivated too, and that helps a lot.  I got it blocked yesterday despite efforts by The Baby and The Puppy to get in my way and step all over the shawl.  It was hard to get good pictures last night as it was raining and dark outside, but I did my best and there are maybe two good ones.  Anyway, I am so glad to have this shawl done and I absolutely love it!!  It is so simple but so pretty!  I wasn’t sure about the yarn throughout the whole thing being so variegated.  The yarn is full of short bursts of color and I was worried about pooling, but I feel like they actually blend together pretty well and there are only a few spots of pooling.  I’m very happy with how it turned out!  Now my only problem is to decide what lace to start on now…

  • Pattern – Icarus by Miriam Felton100_4070_2
  • Yarn – DiCentra Designs laceweight alpaca, color Smaucy’s Breath
  • Needles – US Size 3
  • Took me – About 5 months
  • Comments – Nothing more than I really, really love this shawl.  Thanks to Mim for another great pattern, as always!
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Ally

     /  September 24, 2007

    It’s beautiful! Great job!!

    Reply
  2. Beautiful! You do good work. 😉

    Reply
  3. It’s lovely Lauren! And you’re right about the yarn. It’s subtle enough that it looks really pretty instead of stripey.

    Reply
  4. It is so beautiful! I think the yarn was a perfect choice for the shawl.

    Reply
  5. It’s just lovely!!! I love the color you used, too!

    Reply
  6. Your Icarus looks wonderful!

    Reply
  7. It is gourgous, I simly love it.

    Reply

Something to Say?

