Random Stuff

My little sis is in town, finally, after some time out of the state.  I’ve been busy the last couple of days shuttling her around and just hanging out.  I will be trying to help her out with things if I can, so my knitting time may be cut down a little bit.  I’m really happy that I’ve been able to spend a little time with her, it’s been too long!  I am still knitting though, can you guess what?  Of course it is socks, can you bear it any longer?!  Just kidding.

I found sew green through Lolly’s blog, and I’ve really enjoyed reading and getting good tips concerning the environment.  Sew green linked to No Impact Man, which I think looks really great, and I’m looking forward to reading more of his blog and learning a lot more.  I’d like to have less impact on the environment, and I try, but probably not enough.  I can count on my two hands things that I do to lessen my impact, but like most everyone I can do more.  Anyway, I just thought I’d share those, though I’m late in the game to learning about the blogs myself.

I traded books with my older sister yesterday.  She’ll be reading (she better!) The Assault on Reason and I’ll be reading Culture Warrior.  Honestly I don’t care much for Bill O’Reilly, he can really get on my nerves, and I’d rather hear the news than commentary so I don’t watch him.  I will admit that I’ve tried to watch and occasionally flip the channel over there.  I did see him on Oprah talking about this book a while ago, and I did agree with some of what he said, so I will take a stab at reading the book.  It is interesting to see what the other side thinks too. 

I’m thinking of having another contest, I just have to get creative and come up with a theme.  Or you can suggest something and I’ll steal your idea!  Stay tuned and have a great day 🙂

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I’ve been reading No Impact Man for some time. Pretty interesting stuff. Certainly makes me re-think some of my wasteful ways.
    On a slight tangent, Zen Habits (http://zenhabits.net/) is also a good read. Good simplicity stuff.

    Reply
  2. I really like Sew Green.
    I don’t think I could make myself read O’Reilly–I can’t take the vitriol that he spews on the radio (my grandparents are huge fans of his), but I respect you for giving “the other side” a chance.

    Reply
  3. I read about No Impact Man in the New York Times a couple of months ago. Did you know he uses NO TOILET PAPER? I do not understand how I can really help the planet if it means using no toilet paper. It made me think nothing I could do would be enough, until I shook that off and just went back to recycling etc.
    O’Reilly’s just mean, but ditto what Katherine said.

    Reply

Something to Say?

