The Assault on Reason and my garden

100_2796I finished reading The Assault on Reason yesterday.  It really made me wake up, after I got completely outraged at how we have been purposely deceived by our current administration.  And after I got outraged, I did this – if you see this car, it’s me!  I just had to voice my opinion somehow, and that seemed like a good way to do it.  Let me say that I consider myself neither Republican or Democrat, I am more Green party than anything.  But the lies and manipulation tactics that the current administration uses are despicable and disgusting.  I’m afraid for our democracy as we know it, or used to know it?  Let me also say that Gore’s book didn’t tell me to pait that on my car, I have been thinking of doing that and more for a while now.  Anyway, I don’t want to go too far off the deep end.  It is a good book and it isn’t all bad news, there is a lot of hope that we can turn our system around, even if it will take a while.  My goal now is to find as much information as I can about things that matter to me and about what’s going on in a non-biased way and stay connected to the whole process of democracy100_2787 .  So I have a question for you – where do you get your ‘bi-partisan’, un-biased news?  I’ve been reading the NYTimes online, and I listen to a lot of NPR.  I also check out BBC.com sometimes.  I’m new to all of this stuff, but I do want to be well-informed, so if you’ve got some good tips let me have ’em!  And don’t worry, I’m not going to try and turn this blog into a political one, mostly because I would suck at it. 

100_2790I have been knitting too, my first Dalarna sock is almost done.  I’ve been working a little here and there on the Show Your Colors Shawl too.  That’s about it in the way of knitting.  I was able to get a ton of yard work done over the last few days, mostly weeding in the garden.  The garden is doing so great, we have had fresh zucchini every day for the last week and a half.  We also planted lots of pepper plants, and are now starting to enjoy fresh jalapenos, 100_2792anaheims, and cayennes.  Too bad none of the bell pepper plants grew.  The coolest thing I think though are the pumpkins.  These are a small variety so they won’t get much bigger than this one, but there are a lot of them – I counted around 20 the other day!  I’m excited for the garden to keep doing well and looking forward to lots of fresh veggies to come.  Even though weeding sucks, I love everything else about having a nice garden.  I guess that’s all I’ve got today.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. A good places to go for info, with lots of good links:
    http://www.commondreams.org/

    Reply
  2. Have you heard the saying (or seen the bumper sticker), “If you’re not outraged, you’re not paying attention”? It’s true. I love the back window. These people (Bush, et al) are concerned only with their own power, and to me that is the definition of evil.
    Also loved the garden shots. Very peaceful.

    Reply
  3. Your Big Sister

     /  July 22, 2007

    My only advice, other than find what works for you and go with it within legal limits, is to be careful amongst BBC, NYTimes, NPR and the likes, not to let yourself get caught up in Anti-Americanism. They are SEVERELY far-left (crazy territory), if not anti-american. There is a fine line between discontent with the current administration (I’ll admit, I’m discontent too — maybe not as far as you are 😉 and letting your outrage turn into hatred of what really is a wonderful country. Those in charge may be a little off base (democrat or republican or whatever, and I’ll bet even some green party participants), or even a lot at times. But America still is the best place on earth as far as I’m concerned.
    Anyway. Keep looking and ACTING when you find ways you agree with to influence change. Don’t do anything drastic (like slit your wrists…?) when things don’t follow the exact ‘ideal’, but do choose to be involved and do what you can. If things get bad enough in the future and so far out of our influence by corrupt and evil people, I just might move away with you! 🙂
    Blah, blah, blah. Do you ever get sick of our political ‘debates?’ They sure are lively, to say the least, eh? 😉
    Love you! – Al

    Reply

Something to Say?

