WIPs for the weekend

I am feeling pretty motivated to get some stuff on the way to being done.  I have a couple pair of socks, the Spring Things shawl, and the Bog Jacket that I am itching to get some good progress in on.

  • I’m making headway on the Bog Jacket, I was able to get the body done and woven togethe100_2176r, and now it looks like more than just a square.  I am afraid that I still may run out of yarn though, and in that case I will just use another color and it may not even be close to matching.  Oh well.  The hardest thing for me will be to figure how long I should make the sleeves – the th100_2177ing is pretty huge compared to my little girl and since the sleeves can be 3/4 or full, I really have no idea how they should be.  Is there an average measurement chart out there somewhere?!
  • I am nearing the end of the first chart on the Spring Things shawl.  I should at least be done with the first chart by the end of the weekend.  I am happy that I haven’t had much if any trouble with the pattern so far, no tinking to speak of – yet – knock on wood!  I’m pretty excited about how much progress I have made so far.
  • 100_2178Next up are the Vertical Eyelet socks.  The yarn is some that I dyed myself, I can’t remember, but I think it is Wool2Dye4 fingering weight superwash.  I’m using size 0 needles which is a little annoying, but worth it to me for the fabric that I want.  I’ve tried it on 1s but it really is just too loose.  The stitch patte100_2179rn is also a little annoying, but I don’t want to frog it so I am moving ahead.
  • I am working another pair of socks, this one is just plain stockinette.  The yarn is STR Peaseblossom from last year’s club and I really like it.  Of course I like it, I have yet to meet a skein of STR that I didn’t like and I don’t think that I ever will!  This sock is my treadmill project – yep, I knit while I walk on the treadmill.  I know what you’re thinking, but I keep at a steady pace and I do work up a sweat, so yes it does do good in more 100_2180ways than one!  It has to be a fairly simple project though, and this one is just that.
  • I also hope to do at least some spinning, but I can’t decide which one of these fibers to do first.  The one on the left is more Targhee from Snake River Fibers, and the one on the right is  Wool Top from Louet.  Which one do you like best?

Have a good weekend!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I like the Targhee on the left.. but I just prefer dark colors to bright pinks.

    Reply
  2. Johanna

     /  May 4, 2007

    Walking and knitting! What a great idea. I ordered the Mountain Shawl pattern. I have to finish some socks first before I can start that, but I am looking forward to the challenge. I like how your spring things shawl is turning out. Johanna

    Reply
  3. You have such beautiful projects on the go these days – very inspiring indeed! And I have to say… I like the Targhee on the left best! Have a great weekend!

    Reply
  4. ooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I think I like the stuff on the right best, but then again… the stuff on the left makes me curious to see what colors it would look like once it has been spun up hehehe.
    Cheers Eva

    Reply

Something to Say?

