Random Wednesday

Well it took me long enough, but I finally jumped on the EZ train!  I decided to buy Knitting Around, which got here last week.  I haven’t read a lot of it yet, but I did look at all of the ‘patterns’.  I couldn’t wait 100_2170to try out the Bog Jacket, so I scrounged up some old handspun and started in on it.  I must be liking it, because I am already more than halfway through it!  I did end up having to spin more yarn for it, which is still drying and stalling my progress.  That’s okay though, because other things have caught my attention for now – like the Spring Things Shawl.  I guess the public dogging on myself worked, because I decided that was enough and casted on for it Monday evening.  I am now up to 140something stitches and it is much better on the size 4 needles versus 5s.  I hope to be done with the first chart soon, I’m itching to put some beads in my knitting!   

That is really all I’ve got today, besides that I think I’ve been watching way too much CNN lately.  I’m getting a little depressed at the sad state we are in right now with the war and war and more war.  I’m so sick of photo-ops, scandals, party bickering, etc.  I really just wish we could work together and make progress on issues including but not limited to the endless war, and that people would be more decent and honest.  I’m not very good at speaking about politics, so I think I’ll end it there and hope for a better day tomorrow.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. The bog jacket’s looking great πŸ™‚
    I am eagerly waiting to see pics of the shawl… I think I may accidentally have bought some laceweight yarn today that may become this shawl… we’ll have to see. It is coming all the way from Aussie-land. I will post about it later today πŸ™‚
    As to the news… girl, do yourself a favor and quit watching CNN. First of all, changes won’t happen from hour to hour or even day to day (except, of course, the number of victims) and to be honest, I’ve found that CNN (World) is not totally unbiased on what they show and tell people. If you really want to get a good idea, read other ‘newspapers’ too compare and get a different view (the BBC website seems to be good). I’ll be honest, I don’t watch any news if I can help it. I listen to the news on the radio which is mostly local news with the headlines of the most important international news. It is too depressing otherwise…
    Okay, getting off my soapbox…

    Reply
  2. I know what you mean about the news. I had to stop watching the News Hour about a year into the war. You know that segment they do at the end, showing the pictures of the service people: “here, in silence, are four more”? I just couldn’t take it.
    I wish I could find some meaningful way of protesting the war.

    Reply

Something to Say?

