FO Monday

Big news!  I finally finished the super secret sister socks!  I worked almost all day on them Thursday and stayed up late to get them done so I could take them to her on Friday.  I screwed up though…for some 100_2020reason the second sock had 2 less stitches on the sole, which was the right number.  So I messed up the first sock, even more stupid was not checking the stitch count before moving on to the foot of the second sock.  So the patterning is different, if I had the same stitches on both I am thinking it would have been very close to matching and I wasn’t even trying.  You may remember how I said I did not like this yarn.  Well I like it, but I didn’t like knitting it.  It is Lanas Puras fingering weight, and while it is pretty, it is just not meant to be socks in my opinion.  Maybe it was the needles, maybe it was the stitch pattern, maybe it was the yarn, at any rate it was bad.  I kept sticking the needle into the yarn where it shouldn’t have gone, and it was really hard to get the stitch where it was supposed to be.  I’m probably not making sense, this being a jumbled mess as how I would kind of describe the knitting of these socks.  Anyway, they are finally done and she likes them!  Next pair for herwill be a more functional sock, as these will probably wear with any walking around.  These are her feet in the pictures too!  Here’s the stats:100_2023

  • Pattern – Diagonal Cross-Rib Socks by Ann Budd from Favorite Socks
  • Yarn – Lanas Puras fingering weight, colorway Maple Cream
  • Needles – US Size 1
  • Knitting time – Overall about a week, but they did take me a long time to complete as I took long breaks
  • Comments – These are really beautiful socks, I’m glad that I knit them!

100_2031_2I also have some FOs that I completed a while ago, I just now got around to asking if I could post pictures of the recipients on here.  So here they are, my niece and nephew enjoying their blankets!  Aren’t they just too cute?!  My sister  is doing a great job with those babies, I can’t imagine how tough it would be to raise newborn twins and a 3 year-old all at the same time.  Good job sister šŸ™‚  And thanks for letting us come bug you all of the time too! 

Last but not least, I have one more FO, but it isn’t mine – my sister finishDscn1262ed her hat!  It is on my kid because she was the only willing model.  I lent her my copy of the Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns, and she just did a basic pattern.  The yarn is Wool of the Andes, Kool-Aid dyed by me – isn’t it fun?  She was a little annoyed by the whole double-pointed needles thing, but other than that I think she enjoyed it – even if she said she didn’t!  Hopefully she’ll make another one soon.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Annoyed with DPNS? Get that woman a set of Addis and teach her to Magic Loop!I swap back and forth depending on my mood and what sort of pattern I’m doing.

    Reply
  2. OK,
    It is official now, I NEED that book!
    Lauren, it is a dangerous thing to read your blog, becuause you always have something going on that makes me say to myself, “I want to do that too!” Or “oh wow!, look at that yarn…I need some of that!”
    And now that I work in a place sorrounded by yarn, patterns, needles, and knitting books…it is VERY hard to resist the impulse shopping. =)

    Reply
  3. Yes, praise your sister for the good job! It is hard work! My twins came when the oldest was 17.5 months! Three in diapers wasn’t fun! LOL They’re a lot of work but lots of fun. Tell your sister to hang in there and keep up the good work. Lucky them to have a knitting aunty! :o)

    Reply

Something to Say?

