Thursdays are for Spinning

In an effort to make spinning a more regular occurence, rather than coming in spurts, I’m making Thursdays my spinning report day.  That way I’ll be ‘forced’ to at least spin on one day of the week.  Really I’d like to spin more, but I get so caught up in the knitting and the fake deadlines I make in my head that it’s hard to take time out to just spin.  I’m not terribly good at it either, but I never will be if I don’t do it more often, right?

100_1998First I have some superwash that I did last week.  The roving was from Spunky Eclectic, which I put into a pot and dyed.  I just ended up with splotches of color inbetween the chunks of white, not what I was going for.  I decided to spin it as is anyway, and I don’t think it really turned out bad at all!  So I’ve read that you need to get plenty of twist in superwash, so I tried – I really did.  When I was done with the100_2001 first bobbin though, I decided it wasn’t nearly enough so I just started over and twisted the whole thing more.  Well I think it was too much, because it is a little too thread-like.  With the second bobbin, I decided I’d try my lace flyer out for the first time.  It helped tremendously in my opinion!  I had planned to make it a 3-ply yarn, but I figured it might be a little sucky, so I just plied the 2 bobbins together.  I even used the lace flyer to ply since it was such a small amount.  I ended up with just under 200 yards, not much to do anything with.   I think I’ll try to pair it with some other yarn though, as I do like it and do want to use it.  I think I’ll be more careful next time with superwash though, and make sure to twist enough, but not too much.

I started spinning this other stuff yesterday100_2008  from Alta Mist Alpacas which is a local company.  The colorway is called 100_2002Pizazz, quite fitting I think.  I just had to have the crazy colors!  The plan is to spin it all up and then try and Navajo Ply to keep the color changes – I think that is a little brave for me to be trying, but I have faith in myself πŸ™‚  Hopefully it will turn out good enough and I can try some more bed socks with it.  This picture is after 2 hours of spinning.  I couldn’t get a decent shot without the flash, so the colors aren’t quite that bright in real life.  I think after this batch of alpaca I will lay off of that fiber for a while.  I guess it isn’t my most favorite, and this batch is super matted/sticky in some spots making it really hard to draft.  Plus there is always sticks and nature bits in the alpaca I’ve gotten so far!  Maybe I’m just buying the wrong stuff?  Anyway, I have plenty of stuff in my stash to work through before I can decide what I really, really like and want to spend money on and spin in the future .

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. There are some fibers that I’ve had to pick at a lot to get rid of the VM and others that are completely clean.. I think it just depends on the person/place that processed it. As long as its just little twigs and bits of hay.. I don’t mind a little veg- just reminds you where it all came from. hee hee.

    Reply
  2. Pretty! Don’t worry, navajo plying isn’t that hard, and it’s actually kind of fun. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Superwash was a bit hard to me to get a handle on and I’m still trying, actually. I have some of the alpaca, too! Can’t wait to give it a whorl;-)

    Reply
  4. Johanna

     /  April 12, 2007

    What do you plan on doing with the yarn? I like the mixture that it created.

    Reply
  5. ooohhhhhh PRETTY!!!! I don’t know which one I like more LOL πŸ™‚ I adore the pinks and yellows in that first skein of yarn… and I would make a scarf out of it hehehehe.
    Cheers Eva

    Reply
  6. I really love the first hand spun! There are some great patterns in the One Skein book that use less than 200 yards. If you really can’t find anything to do with it, I’d be glad to take it off your hands! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  7. Wow, Pizazz look wonderful.

    Reply

Something to Say?

