New Techniques

100_1957_2 In keeping with my themed days, I’ve planned Tuesdays to be random stuff.  Today it just happens to be another FO, with some new techniques that I have tried.  Remeber the Jamaican Nights yarn I spun?  Well I succeeded in making into socks!  They are not the world’s greatest socks, but I’m very happy with them considering that I spun the yarn myself.  I decided to do them toe-up because I didn’t know how long I could make them.  You might remeber that I had already knit one sock on size 4 needles, but I decided that I didn’t like it and frogged to reknit on size 3s.  I like the fabric on these socks a lot better.  So the new techniques.  I decided to try the Easy toe directions in Sensational Knitted Socks.  It was very easy!  The first time I knit the first sock, I used the short row heel, but I hated it.  I’ve been wanting to try a heel flap with a toe-up sock for a while now and this was the time to go for it.  With the help of Denise’s gusset increases and Reverse Dutch Heel instructions I was able to do it.  Now the result is not fabulous by any means, but I’m just glad I made it through it, and it really wasn’t that hard.  I’m looking forward to trying it again.  By the time I got to where I needed to cast off, I decided to try yet another new technique, the grafted cast-off for single rib.  That one took a little getting used to, but by the second sock I didn’t need the tutorial anymore.  So all of these new techniques help to make me very proud of these socks, even though they are not perfect or even close to it!  Oh yeah, this is my first yarn that I tried 3-ply with too, which I also really, really like and will probably do for all of my sock yarns to come.  So here are the stats on the socks:

  • Pattern – just made up as I went with help from Socknitters.com and Sensational Knitted Socks100_1959
  • Yarn – my own handspun, Alpaca/Merino/Silk fiber by Snake River Fiberworks in the Jamaican Nights colorway.  It ended up being about 16-18 wpi and I made it 3-ply from 3 bobbins.
  • Needles – US Size 3
  • Took me – the second time around it took me about a day to knit both socks.
  • Comments – I love them!  They are pretty soft overall and should be great socks to just hang arou100_1955nd in!

Wanna see how much yarn I had left?  I’m glad I did toe-up!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Awesome! I can’t wait to spin the yarn for my own socks- yours look gorgeous! Oh.. I love the RPM socks too..

    Reply
  2. Johanna

     /  April 10, 2007

    What does “FO” stand for? Love your blog. I just found it. Johanna

    Reply

Something to Say?

