Contest!

100_1845First off, I got my copy of More Sensational Knitted Socks yesterday!  I was only able to flip through it, but so far I likes what I see!  I love that there are now options for bot100_1844_3h top-down and toe-up for all of the socks, and I like the new patterns a lot too.  There seem to be a lot more patterns also, which of course is cool.  Another great book from the looks of it – yay!  I gathered up all of my sock books in preparation for the 52-Pair Plunge, and I’m thinking I have plenty of patterns and inspiration to keep me busy, don’t you?  I want to try and knit as many socks as I can using these books, especially the Nancy Bush ones – I have those 3 by her and I’ve yet to knit a single sock from them, awful isn’t it?!  Anyway.

So I mentioned yesterday that my next project would not be socks – are you still shocked?!  Well Eva was right, I will be knitting a new lace project.  (Let’s forget that I already have Icarus on the needles and it has been neglected for some time now.)  So the contest part is this – guess what new lace item I am knitting!  I will give hints, all you have to do is leave a comment with your guess by Friday and I will announce the winner on Saturday, even though that seems to be the bloggers’ day off.  I’ll even tell you what yarn I’m using. I’m finally making use of the approximately 240 yards of dk-ish weight Still Waters Cashmere yarn that I picked up at the Oregon Fiber Festival last year.   Okay, I’ll even give you a picture! 100_1849

Ready for the hints?

  • It is a good project for a knitter who wants to branch out to knitting lace
  • I have knit two other lace designs in the past by the person who designed this item
  • The pattern can be found online at a popular knitting magazine
  • It will be long and skinny

Is that enough?  I sure hope so!  So get to it, leave me your guess.  If more than one person gets it right we’ll have a drawing to pick a winner.  Oh, you want to know what the prize is huh?  Okay, in honor of lace, I’ll be giving away about 600 yards of Alpaca/silk lace weight yarn in a pretty cream-ish color.  It is the yarn that I knit Hidcote with.  It can be used as is, or you could dye it if you wanted.  Just don’t be crazy like me and knit a Hidcote shawl and then dye it – or do, if you are the adventureous type!  I’ll be taking a little blogging break until Saturday, so I’ll see you then.  I just might be done with my new project then too, I’m more than halfway done as of this morning.

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. Its the”branching out” scarf from knitty of course!

    Reply
  2. frickinfrack

     /  March 28, 2007

    Well, yeah it’s branching out. I’ve knit that twice and recognized it from the picture. šŸ˜‰ The first time I knit it I did NOT understand lace and made many errors. The second time I knit it a lightbulb went on and I fell in love with lace.

    Reply
  3. Oh I know, I know! šŸ˜‰

    Reply
  4. Leah

     /  March 28, 2007

    Too easy! It’s Branching out! And it’s lovely:)

    Reply
  5. Your hints were more like a thunderclap… obviously it is Susan’s “Branching Out”.

    Reply
  6. The only thing it can be is Branching Out LOL… way too easy for us lace fanatics hehehe.
    Cheers Eva

    Reply
  7. It’s definately Knitty’s Branching Out. I made one a few years ago for my sister’s birthday. It’s a very pretty and recognizable pattern. Have fun with it!

    Reply
  8. I agree–it’s got to be Branching Out. I am about to venture into lace too, so I’ll be interested to hear how it goes!

    Reply
  9. You should have given less hints. I knew immediately it was branching out. lol

    Reply
  10. Yeah Lauren,
    It is definately branching out. šŸ˜‰
    I did not even need the clues! As soon as you said the yardage and the DK I knew.
    And then the picture just sealed the deal.
    Wow! Look at all the comments!
    Oh and 52 pair plunge? All I can say is, you go girl!

    Reply
  11. Even I knew it was Branching Out by the clues. lol

    Reply
  12. Crafty/Stephanie

     /  March 28, 2007

    Definitely the most gorgeous Branching Out, which I also have on my List of Things I Will One Day Knit When I Find The Time And Money, lol, like the Pinwheel Sweater you made. šŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see your finished results!

    Reply
  13. The power of Christ compels your comments!!
    šŸ˜‰

    Reply
  14. Branching Out! Rats, I see from the comments I’m WAY TOO LATE!

    Reply
  15. Following Dixie in the way to late category…Branching Out, duh.

    Reply
  16. I’ll have to join the chorus – Branching Out! šŸ˜‰

    Reply
  17. Much too easy–Branching Out. It was my first lace project.

    Reply
  18. I like the new look–much easier to read!

    Reply
  19. It’s branching out scarf from knitty. Its a pretty color.

    Reply
  20. I found your blog at the 52 pair plunge šŸ™‚ I guess Branching Out as well šŸ™‚

    Reply
  21. Have fun knitting Knitty’s Branching Out, and enjoy the 52 Pair Plunge!

    Reply

Something to Say?

