Red socks

000_0087 I have another pair of socks.  These are out of yarn that I dyed, again.  The yarn is Knitpicks’ Bare superwash, which is surprisingly nice.  The fabric is soft and stretchy, at the same time it seems like it will be somewhat durable – we’ll see.  I did most all of these self-dyed stockine000_0086_1 tte socks the same, cast on 72 stitches, knit 12 rows ribbing, knit 40 rows stockinette, do a simple heel flap and turn, pick up one stitch for every slipped stitch for the gussets, decrease to 72 stitches, knit 40 some rows, then do the toe.  Holy run-on sentence!  I have 3 more to go and then all of those socks will be done, and I can move on with my life!  Anyway, here’s the official stats on the Red Socks:

  • Pattern – a basic sock, help from Sensational Knitted Socks
  • Yarn – Knitpicks Bare superwash, dyed by me
  • Needles – US Size 1 CP dpns
  • Took me – November 14th until now, too long!
  • Comments – Fun!

I’ve cast on for the mate to this sock, and I even got the placement of the stripes to match so far (I think, I hope!).  I’m only a few rows into the stockinette, but hope to have them done by tomorrow.  I won’t bore you with a sock a day, but hopefully I’ll be done with the rest of the stockinette socks by Monday.  Happy knitting!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Katherine

     /  February 9, 2007

    I haven’t used Bare (yet) but I did make a pair of socks with their Sock Memories yarn (or whatever it’s called now), which I believe to be the same base yarn. My verdict: yes, it felts. But it is pretty sturdy and the socks are very, very comfy and squishy. So I would have high hopes for your socks.

    Reply
  2. Are we supposed to remind you that you like 68 stitches instead of 72?

    Reply

Something to Say?

