The Hidcote Garden Shawl

100_1515I did it!  I finally finished the Hidcote Garden Shawl!  It was a long hard (at times) project, one that certainly kept me on my toes.  I’m laughing a bit because the thing is almost as tall as I am – what was I thinking?!  No really though, I will love it and love wearing it, it is just all the more to wrap up in!  I would say that Miriam has really outdone herself with this one, but I’m sure that she will just keep turning out more amazing patterns that we all just have to knit.  I know these aren’t fabulous pictures, but its all I could get this morning! 100_1518

Official stats:

  • Pattern – Hidcote Garden Shawl by Miriam Felton
  • Yarn – 80/20 Alpaca/Silk Lace Weight
  • Needles – US size 3 Addis
  • Took me – about a month, add in some very late nights of constant knitting
  • Comments – What else can I say?  I love the pattern, I loved knitting it even though I had some problems, and I love the end result! 

I did dye this myself after it was all knitted up.  I almost hada major catastrophe on my hands, but I was able to salvage it.  When I first went to dye it, I had it soaking on the stovetop as I brought the heat up.  When I added the Gaywool dye, I just sprinkled it right on top.  Well the top section just co100_1518_1mpletely sucked up the dye which I did not expect.  This is mostly the way I dye roving, so I didn’t think it would be any different with a knitted item.  I thought maybe it would be okay, and I went through the cooling-down and rinsing process, held it up, and to my horror there were huge pools of really dark brown here and there – NOT what I was going for at all!  So I had used the last of that color dye, and had to run down to Three Wishes and get more, where Kristine told me about the RIT color remover100_1520.  After dinner I went to the grocery store to get some and was actually able to get most of the color out of the shawl.  It turned kind of pink, but overall lightened up and I thought it would be safe to dye again.  So I did, this time heating up the shawl and water, but taking the shawl out and then adding the dye to the pot.  When it was mixed up, I added the shawl back in.  At first I thought I had put way too much dye in, but I think it turned out almost perfect.  It is practically what I had visioned when I first decided how I wanted to dye it.  Doesn’t it look almost rusty?  I love it.  Next time though, I think I will dye the yarn first! 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Wow–you are one brave woman! It looks great. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ha, I’m glad mine is not the only one that turned out to be ginormous and a half LOL.
    Oh, boy that dyeing experience sounds scary!!! It sure looks a gorgeous color now.
    Cheers Eva

    Reply
  3. It turned out beautifully in color and knitting!! Nice work. Enjoy wearing her and bragging that you KNIT and dyed it yourself.

    Reply
  4. It is beautiful! I love the way the dye job came out. Kudos for knitting such a huge, lacy beast of a shawl!

    Reply
  5. It’s awsesome! Seeing yours finished is just the fuel I need to work on mine today. I think when I finish this project I will feel like I climbed Mt. Everest.
    So…now that you have finished this behemoth project….think you are going to start another lace project any time soon? =)

    Reply
  6. Beautiful! You chose a lovely color and did a wonderful job!

    Reply
  7. It’s gorgeous! (I can’t believe you laid it out on the snow, though!) Hope you’ll be bringing it to SnB on Tuesday.

    Reply
  8. Wow – good save with the dye! I would have panicked for sure. The end product is so beautiful. And the colour is awesome.

    Reply
  9. PS… did you know that that shawl has a grand total of 78966 stitches in it??? Isn’t that something???
    Cheers Eva

    Reply
  10. I really, really like the color, myself, and hope you get lots of use this spring and summer…. well done, grrl!

    Reply

Something to Say?

