A really long row

So I was cruising along yesterday on the Hidcote Shawl all day.  I’ve resorted to a little more tv time for The Baby in order to get a few more rows in.  I go to work on in after the little ones are in bed, and all I can do is screw it up.  Last time I counted there were 309 stitches, and I’m thinking that there are 52 more now.  It was not fun when I realized I needed to tink 2 entire rows 😦  But I did it (without getting mad!) and now I can see chart #7 on the horizon.  There are 10 charts total, I’m getting so close!  I really want to get this done as soon as I can because when I start class on Monday I know I will have next to no knitting time.  I’m already trying to think of how late I can possibly stay up daily and still be able to function well. 

In other crap, I finally broke down and did what I should have the day The Puppy came home.  I made a schedule – a crate schedule.  She’ll only be in there 4 hours during the day, but that will give me much needed breaks.  I usually do great with schedules and lists, I don’t know why I don’t do them more often.  That reminds me, I need to write out my budget!  There are some exciting events coming up here for me, the 12th is my two-year quit smoking anniversary!  And the 25th is my birthday – I’m already planning a meal out to celebrate.  I’ll get right back to good eating afterwards, I swear!  Oh, on the ‘diet’ I’ve been doing good, and I’m down 2.4 pounds since Monday.  It is only water weight though, but I’m starting to feel a lot better and I didn’t even crave carbs yesterday!  I did find some 87% dark chocolate that I sneak a tiny piece of here and there.  I’m not being totally anal about the carbs, and that is some really bitter stuff, yummy!  Have a great weekend!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Wow, 2 years since you quit smoking! You’re awesome!
    What are you taking next semester?
    I hope you come to SnB Tuesday so I can see Hidcote!

    Reply
  2. I’m only on chart two (but nearly finished with it) on Hidcote. It is such a creative and nicely designed shawl. Sounds like you are good at goals!!

    Reply
  3. Your Big Sister

     /  January 5, 2007

    It sounds like you’re a chip off the old block. πŸ™‚ Routines and schedules are the only things keeping me sane with these twins! You can’t keep two babies on any kind of schedule, but routines for me and the things I need to accomplish are essential.
    Plus, I’ve been struggling with getting hot-headed lately too, especially with the 3-year-old who doesn’t seem to know I exist! (or at least doesn’t want to acknowledge it…)
    You’re an inspiration to me! You’ve accomplished so much in the last little while, and they’re are meaningful changes. If I know you’re working on things too, that will help me try harder. Keep up the good work! And good luck in your new classes at school! Lots of love, Big Sis.

    Reply
  4. Congrats on the smoke-free anniversary! Your shawl knitting prowess is inspiring. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Congrats on the non-smoking milestone! Great job! Too bad you had to tink a couple of rows of Hidcote, but it’s good to hear that you kept your cool.

    Reply
  6. Congratulations on the anniversary! And the first five days are the hardest. It only gets easier from there. But remember, if you fall off the wagon, it takes a few days to stop craving again. It always hits me on day 3, long enough to forget why I feel like that. But I’m on my fifth year off sugar and it’s great for the energy level, especially chasing the kids!

    Reply

Something to Say?

