Bad knitter

100_1315I am a bad knitter.  Remember my goals for December?  Yeah, well, not doing so good on those.  I have only completed one and a half of them, and I have started 2 new projects.  I’ve got some nerve, really.  I did look at the Deep-V swatch today and admitted that there is no way it would work as is.  The fabric is much to dense, and reaching row or stitch gauge would be impossible.  So I will frog it, and maybe try again on a larger needle, but I’m thinking I will just have to end up using an entirely different yarn.  I just may get the Darling yarn done, I did some spinning yesterday and almost made it through one of the 4-oz balls of roving before I overfilled the bobbin.  One down, at least 4 more to go!  Whatever progress I have been making will be slowed considerably after today, the reason being super-secret and I’ll tell you about it tomorrow! 

What new projects have I casted-on for?  Well Miriam had a sale on patterns, and I just couldn’t resist picking up 2 or 3.  I tried to hold back, but in the end I couldn’t stop myself from starting the Hidcote Garden Shawl.  I’m using a cone of alpaca/silk that I picked up at Three Wishes.  I’m not sure that it is exactly the right gauge, but it seems to be looking okay, so I keep moving forward.  I am almost done with chart #3!  It is looking like the new year will be bringing100_1316 lots of lace, as I received my copy of Victorian Lace Today yesterday and immediately fell in love with just about everything in the book.  I have plans to do the Myrtle Leaf Shawl (I want to say beach instead of leaf every time), and I think I’ll finally be able to pick a pattern for the little bit of cashmere I picked up in Oregon.  So while I was at Mim’s shop I also put the  Elanora socks in the cart, and a trip to the Wool Cabin landed me the perfect color of Opal for them.  I found myself starting them on Monday night, and I’m now getting close to the heel flap.  I’m not doing the best job on them, not for lack of trying.  It is a great pattern though and keeps me on my toes!  I swear I didn’t mean to knit in stalker-ish fashion with Miriam’s patterns, it just turned out that way – LOL!  That’s all I’ve got for today, have a great weekend, I know I will!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I love the color for your Elanora socks. I love Mim’s patterns, she is very talented :).

    Reply
  2. Isn’t the VLT book gorgeous??? I’m sooo in love with it LOL. I’m working on the Cap Shawl and I can’t wait to start on something else. I even ordered the yarn for the shawl on the cover (same color too). I hope it will get here soon.
    Cheers Eva

    Reply

Something to Say?

