I have gloves

First a correction.  I don’t know what I was thinking when I said my parents only have 4 grandchlidren.  They obviously have 6 now, as my kind big sister pointed out in the comments yesterday.  A big old WTF and Duh here!  Sorry sister, I didn’t mean to leave the twins out, and I still don’t know how it happened!  I guess I need to proofread my posts more.

In school news, I took my Math final last night.  I think I did really well!  I didn’t do so great on all of the other tests, so I think overall I may end up with a B.  Not great like I wanted, but not bad either.  I guess if I had wanted it bad enough, I’d have put down the needles more and picked up the pencil instead.  It is such a relief that the class is finally over.  I would never survive if I were to take more than one class a semester!  I’ve already registered for my next class, English 101, which doesn’t start until January.  I will enjoy my nice break and try to maximize my knitting time.

Since I’ve started knitting again, I kept saying I need to make me a pair of gloves, with fingers.  I made gloves, just not for me.  I guess I did make gloves for me, but they were both fingerless.  I finally broke down and made time to do it, and in two days I had a new pair of gloves.  I like them a lot, and they will be great for keeping my hands from freezing on the steering wheel of my car.  I used some leftover yarn, and some that I spun while trying to get the wpi I need for the Darling yarn.  I ran out, that’s why the thumb is different on one glove.  It adds more character, 100_1296right?  Official stats:

  • Pattern – Basic gloves using The Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns
  • Yarn – Leftover Berrocco alpaca from Backyard Leaves and my own hand-dyed handspun for the cuffs.
  • Needles – KP size 5, 40" – magic loop is the best!
  • Took me – two days
  • Comments – This is the first time I’ve actually used this book since I bought it a year ago.  It worked well.  They ended up a tiny bit loose, but they are pretty dense and should be really warm.  Mission accomplished.
Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. How about I send you a template of my hands and you knit me some LOL.
    Well those twinbabies are so fresh “out of the oven” that is normal that you “forgot” about them LOL… I’m just kidding 🙂 It was just a lapsus…
    Cheers Eva

    Reply
  2. Your Big Sister

     /  December 12, 2006

    Hey girl, I love EVERYTHING that you make. You’re so creative and talented — MUCH better knitter than I ever was or am! Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  3. The gloves look great! and the thumb does add character.

    Reply
  4. Great job on your first college class! Congratulations!
    Also, loving the gloves, and custom thumb!

    Reply

Something to Say?

