Be honest

100_1231_1I’ve finally completed Mariah.  I’m not exactly jumping for joy because I have mixed feelings.  I talked about the collar issues, and I tried to fix it, but I’m still not so sure that it is satisfactory.  SO, be honest, and tell me what you think!  I know the hood is roll-y, while I do100_1233_2 n’t really expect to ever use it I hope when/if I wash the sweater the hood will be able to relax.  I do like the fit, it is very comfy and it all seems to work except, like 100_1232I said, the collar and hood.  Don’t worry about hurting my feelings – I’m not overly invested in this anymore and honestly I could take it or leave it.  I don’t know for sure that I have the abilities to undo the top and redo it, I’d want it without the hood I think if I did end up ripping.  I also don’t know if I could handle singing the Mariah Carey song Fantasy featuring the Old Dirty Bastard (?)the entire time knitting it! All in all it is pretty cool, I think, and it is really not bad for being Wool-ease.  So is it whack, or is it okay?  Help me out internets!  And how about that ghostly pic eh?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Could you try to do an attached icord edging to the hood to make it stop rolling? I hardly ever wear jackets/sweaters closed all the way to the top.. so maybe it will look ‘better’ if you open it? I do love the cables on it and I’ve concidered knitting it before.. but I see what you mean about the neckline.

    Reply
  2. I like it. It’s a bit wide there at the neck, but that doesn’t bother me. I live in a warm climate that’s perfect for a hoodie sweater in the winter.
    I would leave it, if it were me!

    Reply
  3. Blocking will help the hood and you can always pin it a bit to flatten it out. It looks like a warm and comfy sweatshirt!

    Reply
  4. I don’t think it looks too bad- could find a way to add a drawstring?

    Reply
  5. Like Wendy, I also think that it’s a bit wide at the neck – but hey, this is absolutely “hip” these days, so never mind! As for the rolling, this is a thing I always have issues with too – but after I stopped caring and worrying about it, I’m about to become a big fan of rolling edges! 😉 Really, just take it a bit cooler and tell yourself it’s fine that way (which it is!), then it *will* be fine for you after a while!
    So, I think your Mariah turned out absolutely great, it seems to be so comfy and cozy to wear!

    Reply
  6. I see what you mean, it is wider than usual, but I like it. If you unzip it 3 or 4 inches, and wear a wider necked t-shirt with it, or even something with a collar, it will look more deliberate. Maybe one of those long t-shirts without a ribbed band around the neck?
    You look fabulous in it, BTW.

    Reply

Something to Say?

