Oh baby

I guess I could have added the stats on the baby stuff I posted yesterday.  The sweater and booties came from the book Simple Knits for Cherished Babies, I picked it up at the Wool Cabin.  First I wanted to share something I read in the latest issue of Spin-Off.  Did you know they make paper from sheep poo?!  I think it is too cool!  The sheep only digest about 50% of their food, so there is lots of fiber still in the poo.  They boil it, and then make the paper, and the liquid remaining is used for fertilizer.  Talk about re-using!

The sweater :

  • Pattern – Rosebud Cardigan from said book above
  • Yarn used – Jager Siena, 2 balls
  • Needles – US Size 1 and 2
  • Took me – I don’t really remember, but it wasn’t that long, maybe a week or two.
  • Comments – The instructions were confusing for me, but after some struggles and frogging I was able to get it done.  It is awfully cute and I love it.

The hat:

  • Pattern – I just made it up as I went
  • Yarn used – Debbie Bliss baby cashmerino, 1 ball will make two hats
  • Needles – US Size 2
  • Took me – a couple of hours
  • Comments – Such a great, quick and satisfying knit.  Can’t wait to see a baby head in it!

The booties:

  • Pattern – Classic Cashmere Booties from said book above
  • Yarn used – Debbie Bliss baby cashmerino, less than half of a ball
  • Needles – US Size 2
  • Took me – about an hour
  • Comments – The cutest of all the baby knits, they melted my heart and made my ovaries tingle.

Since I’m on a roll with the boring stats, why don’t I add some more?!  I have two more sets of baby knits that I completed last night.  They aren’t really matching sets, but I don’t really care and I don’t think that my sister does either (hope not!).

Blue sweater:

  • Pattern – Chunky Knit Cardigan, again from the same book as the other100_1193
  • Yarn used – I cannot find the label, but it is some Lanet Du something?  I dunno, and I used about 2 balls double stranded
  • Needles – US Size 6 and 7
  • Took me – a few days
  • Comments – The yarn is part acrylic, and it was really funky before washing – it softened right up.  For a quickie this is a pretty cute sweater.

Yellow sweater:

  • Pattern – Garter Stitch Cardigan from the same book
  • Yarn used – Louet Gems, a little less than one skein
  • Needles – US Size 5 and 6
  • Took me – about 2 weeks.  I slacked.
  • Comments – The construction was something I hadn’t done before, and it was really cool.  Basically knit from the back to the front, all in one peice.  The bonus was not using a whole skein of yarn.

The booties are the same pattern as above, knit in Rowan Cashcotton (blue) and leftover Louet Gems (yellow).  The hats are the same as above, also in the Baby Cashmerino.  Okay, I apologize for all of the boring info.  I have a little bit more cashmerino left, and I’m thinking of doing some scratch mitts, that’s if I get around to it.  I’m itching to get back to Seraphim, but not until I wind up a bunch of cone yarn and start o100_1198n the meitered square blanket again. 

Yesterday I scored the best package I have gotten in a while!  I100_1200_1 got a good deal on some Peace Fleece, which I have never tried but heard great things about it so I couldn’t pass it up.  I got 4 skeins each of dk weight yarn, colors are Sheplova Mushroom and Olive Roots.  I’m planning sweaters for it, so I need to decide on a some great patterns.   This stuff is soooo gorgeous, and  I am dying to cast on with it!  I am holding myself back though, it will be a real treat to finally dig into it after I get the baby blanket done.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Your baby things are very cute! And I was just reading yesterday about paper products being made from panda poo in Thailand. How funny.

    Reply
  2. I like it! There’s nothing like seeing the baby wearing the handknits!

    Reply

Something to Say?

