One crazy sock, coming up!

100_1134 So here is the crazy sock, the one from the yarn on the 14th’s post.  Isn’t it insane?!  I really like it though.  The boyfriend said it looked like someone had taken magic markers and colored all over it, I like that!  This one is knit on 66 stitches instead of 72, which makes for a better fitting sock for me.  I’m also knitting away on a sock from the easter yarn, I’m about 20 rows away from starting a toe.  I picked 72 stitches again, remind me I don’t like it, so I shouldn’t do it anymore mkay?  It is also turning out a lot nice than I had originally thought.  I did not dye any more yarn yesterday, it just didn’t happen.  I100_1136_1 did get some more roving colored though – the first roving I ever bought has been dyed folks!  I had almost the same amount of the stuff I did the other day, and I’m hoping to spin them both separately and then ply them together.  It wi ll look pretty nice, right? 

In other news, I decided I finally needed to break down and just get a swift already.  So I hopped on down to T100_1135_1hree Wishes and picked up this beauty.  I just love it, and I don’t know how I ever got along without one.  Really.  I can now wind a ball in just under 4 minutes.  That’s opposed to anywhere from 10 to 30 minutes using the lay-the-skein-on-the-floor-and-be-careful method.  So I’ve got a cone of yarn and some new Jacquard dyes on the way, in the meantime I’m going to try to use up the Gaywool dyes I’ve got to do some solid and variegated yarns and rovings.  Watch this spot!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Stopping by from the Twisted Knitters. Love your crazy socks!
    And I have the opposite problem politically, in a way. I have a knitting/political blog even, but since I live in California, my vote just goes into the big blue pot, which is great, but doesn’t make that much of a difference. I did make GOTV calls in Connecticut that last weekend, though, so I got my hand in there somewhere. Just ordered my “Draft Gore” bumper stickers, too!
    Anyway, I’m looking forward to your next sock adventure!

    Reply
  2. The purple/wine roving on the right is absolutely gorgeous.. I had to wipe the drool off of my keyboard.

    Reply
  3. I love the way that knit up!

    Reply
  4. I love the sock! And what dyes do you use with your roving? I’m actually looking to get some pastels on some superwash roving and I think I’m chicken. I really love the roving and don’t want to screw it up.

    Reply

Something to Say?

