The wrap that swallowed me up

100_1042_1I have been a bad blogger, and I’m sorry.  Hopefully my pic of a finished object will somewhat make up for it.  Yes folks (if anyone is still reading my blog) I finished Clapotis!  And it will be known as The Wrap that Swallowed Me Up.  Look closely at the smaller pic and you can see where The Baby got a hold of it!  This thing is ginormous!  It took me just under 5 skeins of the Artyarns Ultramerino 8.  It is an expensive wrap too!  3 of the skeins were on sale, so it wasn’t that bad.  Anyway, I think the gauge is a little bigger than called for in the pattern so the thing is Big.  I love it, but I don’t really know if I’d wear it out, it feels like a mini-blanket!  It is warm and pretty, pretty being the most important quality.  I’ve heard people say that this project is one of those intensely boring knits, the ones that make you want to poke an eye out with the needle tip.  But I quite enjoyed it.  It was fairly quick, when I wasn’t waiting for the rescue yarn to arrive, and an ea100_1041_1sy enough pattern that it made for great TV knitting.  I’m tempted to do another, but it would have to wait until I have some obligatory baby knitting done – I am soooo behind it isn’t even funny.  Anyway, there has been knitting going on here, even though there is a lack of blogging about it.  I’ll tell you about that tomorrow.  That is if I don’t just blow it off.  Heh.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Wow–I thought mine was big. Yours is HUGE (but pretty!)! šŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Oh, that is simply gorgeous.

    Reply
  3. I think those of us who want to poke our eyes out are the ones who decided to knit Clapotis in either laceweight or fingering weight instead of the worsted that the pattern calls for..
    Your Clapotis is beautiful. I think you should find a gorgeous shawl pin and just rock it anyway! I’m sure if you draped it around your neck a few times and pinned it- it wouldn’t be so like a “blanket”.

    Reply
  4. It will keep you warm no matter the weather! Enjoy it…it looks fantastic.

    Reply
  5. Katherine

     /  October 26, 2006

    Totally wear it. It’s beautiful. I’m (im)patiently awaiting pictures of Ariann. I’m about to start one myself.

    Reply
  6. It looks awesome!
    I wear mine way more than I thought I would; it’s the warmest scarf I have. There are definately days when you need to wrap up!

    Reply
  7. Hi there! I was browsing the Ariann KAL from a french blog and then here…
    Big is beautiful! If you fold it twice in the front and secure the upper fold with a shawl pin, you’ll get a poncho-like, very stylish look. I’m sure with a bit of wear you’ll neve look back for a smaller size šŸ˜‰
    ps: Ginormous… I like that. A very nice addition to my english vocabulary.
    Cheers from Brussels!

    Reply

Something to Say?

