Injured and ill

I’ve been injured.  I think it was the knitting marathon I had myself over the weekend. I’ve actually been knitting way too much lately, staying up too late and kntting instead of studying.  My left wrist hurts when I flex it upward.  It’s weird because I didn’t feel it until after I finished Susan’s Forest Canopy Shawl, and then I tried to work on Clapotis because I finally got more yarn for it – I couDsc01198ldn’t do it.  So I will be taking a break from knitting.  I don’t know what I will do!  I’ll be spinning now, I suppose.  I guess if I wasn’t feeling a cold coming on, I’d get to cleaning this house really well before we leave for Oregon.  What a great time to get sick, huh?  I just hope The Baby doesn’t catch it as well, and if she does, it better just be a small cold – I fully intend on taking all of us to Oregon, hoping any sickness will not last long enough to keep us from having a great time.  Am I bad?  Anyway, the shawl is done, the energized sock is getting there, I got my shipment of STR which is GORGEOUS and I have been trying so hard to not wind it up and cast it on.  I was planning on SnBing tomorrow, but if I am still sick I won’t.  I don’t want to spread germs to all you nice grrrls! 

Stats on the Shawl:

  • Pattern – Forest Canopy Shoulder Shawl by Susan Lawrence
  • Yarn – Mountain Colors Bearfoot, colorway Ruby River
  • Needles – US size 8
  • Took me – 2 1/2 days
  • Comments – Love it!  I like that it is still lace, but easy enough to knit while watching movies.

Only 2 days until we leave for OFFF!  WOOT!

P.S. I don’t know why I can’t get a decent picture with my camera lately , I apologize.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Wow, Lauren, it looks fabulous!!

    Reply
  2. gorgeous shawl!!!
    I hope y’all be healthy to travel!!!
    Cheers Eva

    Reply
  3. It’s beauitful and you’ll love wearing it! Here is a web site with fabulous stretch to keep you from knitting injuries. Make sure to take breaks and stretch so you don’t have pain.
    http://ergocise.com/stretch.html

    Reply
  4. I’m so sorry that you’re having problems with your wrist – this seems to be a problem many of us share, knitting-marathons are just not so good for the wrists!;( But once you’ll be giving it a bit of a break, I’m sure you’ll be back in knitting action soon again – all the best to you!
    And my, your Forest Canopy Shawl is so absolutely beautiful, I can’t believe what a gorgeous pattern this is – you did a fantastic job knitting it up! Congrats!

    Reply
  5. OOOOH! LOVE it. 🙂 I’m sorry your wrist hurts. Hope it feels better soon!!!

    Reply
  6. I was diagnosed with carpel tunnel at the beginning of the year, I opted for accupuncture with some deep tissue massage, ultrasound and laser treatment (a good physiotherapist should be able to do this), the wrist is as good as new now. Good luck with your injury, being unable to knit really sucks.

    Reply

Something to Say?

