Food and Budget 3.10 – Will Work for Kale

I volunteered for my Bountiful Basket today.  It went well and I even got a little bit of a workout carrying boxes and doing lots of squats :)  I got kale as my extra!  We just got a conventional basket this week, still had lots of produce in the fridge from last week.  Here is what we got in the basket:

Bananas, pineapple, apples, oranges, blueberries, carrots, green onions, romaine, more kale, asparagus, cucumbers, mini sweet peppers, and anaheim peppers.  It was a pretty good amount of stuff.

In the past week I really really tried to not go shopping.  We did have to get a few things but not much.  I bought:

  • The basket of course $16.50
  • Carrots 20# I think? from Costco $5.79
  • Garlic $.23 – 2 pounds for 99 cents at Rancho!
  • Onions $.68 – 6 pounds for 99 cents at Rancho!
  • Spinach from Costco $3.89
  • Cheese $10.30
  • Milk $7.28 – we bought a gallon and a half – I made lots of yogurt.
  • Heavy Cream $3.79
  • Eggs $5.98
  • Pork belly from Caputo’s $18.52
  • Corn Starch $2.79
  • Chocolates $1.20
  • Olives $4.64
  • Ancient grains cereal from Costco $6.99

So the total spent this week was $88.48.  Not too bad, considering we went to Caputo’s!!  We usually walk out of there with at least $50 worth of stuff :lol:  I really wanted some olives and pork belly though.  I will try not to go there until next month just to be safe!

I want to share more of what I’m making this week and possibly even do some planning for the week.  I guess I need to to make sure we get all of this stuff used up!  I do see a lot of salads in my future…

Have a great weekend!

 

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Its worth it to invest in groceries that will do your body good. Awesome job, $88 isnt to bad at all.

    Reply

Something to Say?

